New Contributor

Semi Structured data with xml embedded

[ Edited ]

Hi,

I am very new to Spark.  I am trying to handle a semi structure file which is '^' delimited and has xml tags embedded in one of the columns.  Please let me know what is the best way to process this file.

Sampe Data:

11001^1^100^2015-06-05 22:35:21.543^<d><nv n="ExtStationID" v="Station/FYI Television, Inc./25102" /><nv n="MediaDesc" v="19b8f4c0-92ce-44a7-a403-df4ee413aca9" /><nv n="ChannelNumber" v="1366" /><nv n="Duration" v="24375" /><nv n="IsTunedToService" v="True" /><nv n="StreamSelection" v="FULLSCREEN_PRIMARY" /><nv n="ChannelType" v="LiveTVMediaChannel" /><nv n="TuneID" v="636007629215440000" /></d>^0122648d-4352-4eec-9327-effae0c34ef2^2016060601

This what I am doing currently to process it:

data.map(_.replace(",","")).map(_.replace("^",",")).map(_.replace("<d><nv","")).map(_.replace("v=",",")).map(_.replace("n=",",")).map(_.replace("\"","")).map(_.replace("/><nv","")).map(_.replace("/></d>","")).saveAsTextFile("out7")

Please let me know if there is a better way to handle this type of data.

Thanks,

Sudha.

Cloudera Employee

Re: Semi Structured data with xml embedded

Hi Sudha,

I believe you have a couple options.

1.  Use spark-csv package to intially process the delimited portion or simply map over RDD and use splitBy but ensure delimiter does not exist within column.  You can then map over RDD again and use an XML parser on columns that contain XML.

2.  Again use spark-csv or splitBy to initially process data.  Next map over results and select only the xml column.   Next use spark-xml package to convert xml RDD into DataFrame.  The example shows reading a file, but you can also process an RDD using XMLReaders xmlRdd method.

3.  Create a spark udf.  You may be able to find a udf for parsing xml within spark already, but I haven't looked myself.  This would be similar to #1 but a bit more reusable with a little extra effort upfront.

Highlighted
New Contributor