Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Spark gateway not starting

Expert Contributor

Hi All,

I have 3 node cluster having Cloudera 5.9

I am new in spark. I have installed it using cloudera add service feature. However I notice Spark gateway is not running on any of the node. When I try to start , it gives the error " Command Start is not currently available for execution "

I am not sure why is this error coming. Do i have to chose the option from CM UI Install spark jars ? I am using Spark to use Yarn Resource Manager i.e. it not a stand alone Spark.

I have 7077 707818080 18081 18088 and 4040 ports open for them. History server UI is opening. Also, I am able to launch and use spark-shell.

However I cannot open Spark UI using ¨http://lnxmasternode01.centralus.cloudapp.azure.com:4040/¨ It is giving error ¨the site cant be reached¨

Please advice what should I do.

-bash-4.1$ spark-shell
Setting default log level to "WARN".
To adjust logging level use sc.setLogLevel(newLevel).
Welcome to
____ __
/ __/__ ___ _____/ /__
_\ \/ _ \/ _ `/ __/ '_/
/___/ .__/\_,_/_/ /_/\_\ version 1.6.0
/_/

Using Scala version 2.10.5 (Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM, Java 1.7.0_67)
Type in expressions to have them evaluated.
Type :help for more information.
Spark context available as sc (master = yarn-client, app id = application_1483386427562_0003).
SQL context available as sqlContext.

scala>

Thanks,

Shilpa

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Champion

Hi Shilpa,

I am assuming that you selected the Spark service from the base CDH 5.9 parcels/packages and didn't fetch is separate and therefor are running a standalone Spark cluster alongside the Hadoop cluster.