New Contributor

Re: Ask me anything!

[ Edited ]

Thanks Mike for your reply! Very detailed indeed and I think we all remember life changing events. I am an author (with a few things on Pluralsight, SyncFusion and MS) who specialized on Agile, then search (Solr) and now I got really interested in Cloudera.

If I may reply on my AHA MOMENT to get deeply interested in Cloudera, it came when the CEO of the company I work for (one of your partners) sat down with you in an event in New York and you told him how search fits into big data - and then he told us the story in a company event.

From there I watched some of your videos (the Stanford one being my favorite) and got started with Cloudera stuff. Just took the Hadoop Admin training, taking the test in 2 weeks and hopefully going to the Germany bootcamp in Nov. Also I am working my way to becoming a Cloudera expert (despite being a Microsoft MVP which probably should indicate that I go to Azure/HDInsight and a few more MS related stuff)

Thanks for what you have built. I hope I can soon become a Cloudera expert as planned. What do you see for Cloudera in the future? Where are you going? (if I may ask)

Highlighted
Topics: 1
Kudos: 20
Solutions: 0

Re: Cloudera & Apache Kafka

BQuinart wrote:

First, I would like to congratulate you with what you and the team build at Cloudera.

Even now that the company is becoming mature, there is a DNA of deep expertise & vision with regards to the products and technologies; and most importantly, you keep customers and their use cases in the center.

Cloudera quickly understood the importance of (interactive) SQL and invested heavily in the area. You were also early to understand and discuss the importance of Apache Spark and showed the ability to move beyond the core technologies. Finally, you show with Apache Kudu, that if needed you will invest in technology to address specific needs.

I am interested to understand what you think about the importance of Apache Kafka?