Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-07-2017
Accepted Solution

Cloudera Director support for new AWS i3 instances

When will the new i3 instances be supported in Cloudera Director? When I tried to launch a cluster with the i3 instances, it threw a generic error about how that instance type is not supported by the AMI I selected. I then made up a non-existent instance type and got the same error.

Cloudera Employee
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-18-2014

Re: Cloudera Director support for new AWS i3 instances

Hi Garren,

 

You can configure Director to work with a new EC2 instance type without waiting for a new Director release. We implemented the AWS plugin this way because new instance types appear all the time, and you shouldn't have to wait for us to be able to use them.

 

https://www.cloudera.com/documentation/director/latest/topics/director_aws_new_instance_types.html

 

Even once you configure for a new instance type, though, it's still possible that the AMI you chose is not available for it. For example, my favorite in us-east-1, ami-6d1c2007, can't use an i3 instance type when I try to launch one from the AWS console: "The instance configuration for this AWS Marketplace product is not supported."

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-07-2017

Re: Cloudera Director support for new AWS i3 instances

Thanks Bill!

 

Oddly, I had no problem launching an i3.8xlarge with that same AMI (ami-6d1c2007)

Cloudera Employee
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎02-18-2014

Re: Cloudera Director support for new AWS i3 instances

Oh weird! I tried an i3.large and it balked.

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-07-2017

Re: Cloudera Director support for new AWS i3 instances

 

 

Hey @Bill Havanki I edited the files and added these lines:

 

ec2.virtualizationmappings.properties

hvm=i3.large,\
  i3.xlarge,\
  i3.2xlarge,\
  i3.4xlarge,\
  i3.8xlarge,\
  i3.16xlarge,\

 

ec2.ephemeraldevicemappings.properties:

i3.large=1
i3.xlarge=1
i3.2xlarge=1
i3.4xlarge=2
i3.8xlarge=4
i3.16xlarge=8

 

Unfortunately, while the provisioning of the instances was successful, the NVMe drives were NOT mounted. This is likely because they are at non-default locations like "/dev/nvme0n1"

Announcements