Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Problem with AWS Cloudera Quick Start Deployment Step 3 Connect to Director on port 7189

Contributor

Hello

I  am using the AWS quick start deployment guide here

http://docs.aws.amazon.com/quickstart/latest/cloudera/step3.html

I am using the Quick Start guide because I am new to this subject so thought this would be the best way to go and expected that the guide is Newbie/Idiot proof.

I have created 2 RHEL-7.1 nodes, and it all goes well. However I am stuck at step 3 trying to connect to the Cloudera Director. When I enter the IP and port address into my browser (tried Safari and Chrome) no connection is made and the browsers time out the connection. I checked a lot of similar posts and tried lots of things but no luck. Its not clear to me if

1. The IP address I use in the SSH command in step 3.2 is the public or private IP address for my Cluster Launcher Node?

2. Do I enter this ssh tunnel command in a new terminal window on my machine (MacBook running 10.10.4) or the terminal window I used in Step 3.1 ?

2. Some posts reference port 7180, what IS the correct port 7180 or 7189?

3. Is There anything I need to do in my browser? I already followed the instructions to add the ProxySwitch Omega to Chrome and that did not work .

4. I have Cloudera Director running as seen in the ps - ef command, am I missing anything? Are there any steps missing from the guide? I am assuming lots of things you would normally do in a manual install are done 'behind the scenes' by the AWS CloudFormation template, but I suspect its missing something.

Been stuck on this for weeks now, like many other people I have seen on various posts, so any new suggestions greatly appreciated

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Super Collaborator

Hi Cerno,