Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-26-2017

Attempting to connect to Cloudera Manager

[ Edited ]

Hi, Cloud Manager is struck with below message. Please do the needful.

 

"Attempting to connect to Cloudera Manager... By default, the Cloudera QuickStart VM runs Cloudera's Distribution including Apache Hadoop (CDH) under Linux's service and configuration management. If you wish to migrate to Cloudera Manager, you must run one of the following commands. To use Cloudera Express (free), run Launch Cloudera Express on the Desktop. This requires at least 8 GB of RAM and at least 2 virtual CPUs. To begin a 60-day trial of Cloudera Enterprise with advanced management features, run Launch Cloudera Enterprise (trial) on the Desktop. This requires at least 10 GB of RAM and at least 2 virtual CPUs. Be aware that after rebooting, it may take several minutes before Cloudera Manager has started all of the services it manages and is ready to accept connects from clients."

 

Screenshot - 31-10-2017 , 23_24_35.png

 

Thanks inadvance.

Posts: 915
Kudos: 110
Solutions: 58
Registered: ‎04-06-2015

Re: Attempting to connect to Cloudera Manager

Hi @PaniG,

 

Can you provide what kind of resources the VM has assigned to it as well as the overall system resources? For instance a common issue is allocating too many of the system resources to the VM to meet requirements. For instance a system with 8GB of RAM cannot allocate 8 GB to the VM as it needs to reserve some of it to run the operating system.  



Cy Jervis, Community Manager


Was your question answered? Make sure to mark the answer as the accepted solution.
If you find a reply useful, say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up button.

Learn more about the Cloudera Community:

Terms of Service

Community Guidelines

How to use the forum

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-26-2017

Re: Attempting to connect to Cloudera Manager

Hi Jervis,

 

Thanks for your reply

 

Please find the below screenshot for assigned system resources.

 

image.png.

 

------

when i check with netstat for 7180, it is showing nothing.

 

[root@quickstart ~]# netstat -nap |grep 7180
[root@quickstart ~]# .

 

------

 

cloudera-scm-server status :

 

[root@quickstart ~]# sudo service cloudera-scm-server status
cloudera-scm-server (pid 5376) is running...
[root@quickstart ~]#

 

-------

 

I tried from curl

 

curl 12.0.0.1:7180
curl: (7) couldn't connect to host

 

------

 

[root@quickstart ~]# cat /etc/hosts
# This file is generated by /usr/bin/cloudera-quickstart-ip, which is invoked
# by /etc/init.d/cloudera-quickstart-init. If you wish to change the way that
# /etc/hosts is generated, you may edit /etc/init.d/cloudera-quickstart-init
# and hard-code a different IP address as a parameter to
# /usr/bin/cloudera-quickstart-ip, or you may comment out that line and manage
# /etc/hosts yourself.


127.0.0.1 localhost localhost.domain
10.0.2.15 quickstart.cloudera quickstart

 

 

-----

 

root@quickstart ~]# hostname -f
quickstart.cloudera

 

 

------

 

[root@quickstart ~]# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 08:00:27:9D:13:B8
inet addr:10.0.2.15 Bcast:10.0.2.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:3669 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2636 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:3371537 (3.2 MiB) TX bytes:243202 (237.5 KiB)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:3356 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:3356 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1332086 (1.2 MiB) TX bytes:1332086 (1.2 MiB)

 

 

Thanks,

Pani.

Highlighted
Posts: 915
Kudos: 110
Solutions: 58
Registered: ‎04-06-2015

Re: Attempting to connect to Cloudera Manager

Ah, I was hoping for a simple fix. I get lucky some times and it is a resource allocation issue. At this point we will have to wait for someone more experienced to chime in. 



Cy Jervis, Community Manager


Was your question answered? Make sure to mark the answer as the accepted solution.
If you find a reply useful, say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up button.

Learn more about the Cloudera Community:

Terms of Service

Community Guidelines

How to use the forum

Announcements