Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Cloudera Manager or QuickStart vm?

Explorer

Hi All,

I am very new to Cloudera and I would like to set up a sandbox environment. Should I get a QuickStart VM or start with Cloudera Manager and install it bymyself?

My concern is to meet security requirements, which is to be in my company's network, so I am not sure whether with the VM this can be done. Additionally there should be updates of the operating software to keep everything secure, so I would have to maintain it bymyself. Later on I will need to connect to other machines for data etc.

Can you please advice if I can use vm or better to start with Cloudera Manager? Is there anything else I should concider?

Currently I have Windows Server 2008 machine with 28 GB RAM, but instead of Windows I can get Ubuntu or CentOS.

Thank you

Anna

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Rising Star

Hi Annkaa,

welcome to Cloudera community. 🙂 I like your idea to ask a question along with your intro message, makes it more practical 🙂

As for your question, Quickstart VM is definitely easier to begin with, but I would suggest you start testing in your own local VM, using for example VirtualBox.

When you get the hang of it, you can proceed with the next step, installing a (pseudo-distributed) cluster with Cloudera Manager, preferably still in local virtual machines, and as the next step I would go with company servers.

The only reason why I would go through these steps is that you have better control on your local vms, which is important for learning.

One more thing that you need to consider is that there is no way to "install" QuickStart VM on an empty, clean, machine - you just import a pre-installed, working, single-node cluster in a virtual machine.