Explorer

Explanation of Cloudera architecture on cloud (Azure)

Hello everyone! I am new to Hadoop/Cloudera world, I need to setup a Cloudera cluster on Microsoft Azure cloud.

If I understood correctly there are two methods to install Cloudera on a cluster: using Cloudera Manager or thorugh a manual installation.

According to this schema it seems it is needed a dedicated machine for Cloudera Manager and 3 Master Nodes.

cloudera_azure.png

But in this table it seems I can install Cloudera Manager directly on the Master Node.

cloudera_azure_roles.png

So here are my doubts/questions:

1) Is it necessary to have Cloudera Manager in a dedicated machine (if yes, why)? Or can it be installed directly on the master node?

2) Why there are 3 master nodes? From what I understood, 2 master nodes can be used for high availability (they are the mirror of each other with the same configuration and services and can used for an hot switch). What is the purpose of the third master node and why it is different from the other two?

3) What is the purpose of the Cloudera Director and which are the differences from the Cloudera Managera? I've read that it can be used for automated deployments to the cloud but it is not clear to me for what exactly I could use it.

Thanks in advance for any information. 

Highlighted
Expert Contributor

Re: Explanation of Cloudera architecture on cloud (Azure)

Master nodes: Yes the HDFS has two master roles, but the HDFS, YARN, Hbase, Failover controller and many other applications depends on Zookeeper. And this has to be deployed on 3 nodes. ZK is then voting who should be the leader, and therefore you need and odd number. It can be 1,3,5,7 and so on. But if you choose just one ZK, then if it fails, everything fails.  Choosing 3 gives you the possibility to tolerate 1 node failure. Choosing 5, 2 nodes failures and so on.