New Contributor

Problems with oracle BDA & Cloudera

I am a beginner with oracle BDA and Cloudera ,after installing BDA to my cluster all other services like zookeper , hive  went to halt , if I disable the BDA all of the services started working. Please help

Topics: 11
Kudos: 60
Solutions: 34

Re: Problems with oracle BDA & Cloudera

@BSambit

Have you tried to configure Oracle BDA on an existing cluster ? (or) created new cluster using mammoth (bdacli) commands ?

If your answer is yes for my first question, what are the steps you have followed to enable/disable Oracle BDA on an existing cluster?

New Contributor

Re: Problems with oracle BDA

Hi ,

That's a long process .

1. Download V860496-01.zip (which is for Cloudera) from oracle

2. There is a PDF available from oracle named E76071-02.pdf which having the installation steps

3. Configure the /usr/java/default to point jdk of cloudera

4. Configure a parallel python as this BDA don't accept 2.6 version so you have to configure 2.7 onwards . basically a yum install

5. Download others mentioned in the pdf .

6. Then config the bda-config.json file to point to oracle Db.

7. Start the setup with the json file

8. After that it will available as a parcel .. then in the cloudera manager go to host >parcel to see the parcel available . activate it

9. It will come below to the zookeeper of the main page, from there you can start it like other services .

Regards
Sambit

@BSambit

From your details, my understanding is that you have Cloudera manager configured already and trying to setup Oracle BDA on top of that? is my understanding true? if so, if CM is already working then what is the point of setting up BDA on top of it?

New Contributor

Hi,