Reply
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎04-21-2015

installation problem

Hello 

 

I am new in Cloudera Hadoop and I am trying to install Cloudera in 6 servers. (My plan is to use 2 namenodes and 4 datanodes as startup)

 

I installed following packages  

namenode 

hdp1:~] yum list installed | grep cloud
cloudera-cdh.x86_64 5-0 @/cloudera-cdh-5-0.x86_64
cloudera-manager-agent.x86_64 5.4.0-1.cm540.p0.165.el6 @cloudera-manager
cloudera-manager-daemons.x86_64 5.4.0-1.cm540.p0.165.el6 @cloudera-manager
cloudera-manager-server.x86_64 5.4.0-1.cm540.p0.165.el6 @cloudera-manager
cloudera-manager-server-db-2.x86_64 5.4.0-1.cm540.p0.165.el6 @cloudera-manager

 

second  namenode

hdp2:~>yum list installed | grep cloud
cloudera-cdh.x86_64 5-0 @/cloudera-cdh-5-0.x86_64
cloudera-manager-agent.x86_64 5.4.0-1.cm540.p0.165.el6 @cloudera-manager
cloudera-manager-daemons.x86_64 5.4.0-1.cm540.p0.165.el6 @cloudera-manager
oracle-j2sdk1.7.x86_64 1.7.0+update67-1 @cloudera-manager

 

one of the datanodes, 

hdp4:~]yum list installed | grep cloud
cloudera-cdh.x86_64 5-0 @/cloudera-cdh-5-0.x86_64
cloudera-manager-agent.x86_64 5.4.0-1.cm540.p0.165.el6 @cloudera-manager
cloudera-manager-daemons.x86_64 5.4.0-1.cm540.p0.165.el6 @cloudera-manager
oracle-j2sdk1.7.x86_64 1.7.0+update67-1 @cloudera-manager

 

 

I configured manager-agents to work with hdp1 server, I started scm db and server in hdp1 server and then cont.

 

When the GUI tries to inspect hosts for cluster installation I got following errors. ( I connected to hdp1 server from HTTP browser )

 

--> hdp1.vodafone.local: Inspector did not run successfully.

--> 6 hosts are reporting with NONE CDH version

--> There are mismatched versions across the system, which will cause failures. See below for details on which hosts are running what versions of components.

 

Regarding to last error it gives some components' version in 2 different groups but all the components have same version

 

So any idea about this errors ?

How can I fix them?

 

Thanks

 

Explorer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-30-2013

Re: installation problem

Have you made any progress on this issue? If so, please let us know where you stand, and I'll try to help.

 

If not, could you provide more detail on the errors you reported? Specifically, I'd like to know what exactly was reported with the component mismatch version.

 

I have not yet had a reason to use a package-based install, but I am happy to follow along and see if I reproduce your results. Or, if you would rather save the time, you could use a parcels-based install instead.

 

Regards,

 

Michael

Highlighted
Expert Contributor
Posts: 61
Registered: ‎03-06-2015

Re: installation problem

Why don't you just install Cloudera on a single node and deploy it out to the four nodes you specify?

 

If you plan to install the way you're doing it now you will run into a lot of problems.

 

Download the *.bin and run it should be all you need.

Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎04-21-2015

Re: installation problem

[ Edited ]

Hello Michael

 

No I have not got any progress on this issue yet. Actually I am working on many projects, some of them are really urgent so I postponed it but I have to cont. on this issue next week, we could work on it :) I will upload a screenshots about problem,

 

btw I am little bit experience about another vendor's hadoop solution, I had no problems at installation and I could also upload, query data other vendor's solution.

 

Thanks for your input

Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎04-21-2015

Re: installation problem

[ Edited ]

Hello nauseous

 

I will try it and then share the progress

 

Thanks

Explorer
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-30-2013

Re: installation problem

[ Edited ]

Understood -- I'll wait to see what you've got when you have time.

 

I agree with nauseous on your approach, however. Cloudera does support package-based installation, but using parcels is much easier. CM will let you download, distribute, activate, and install CDH from parcels all through a wizard. You don't have to worry about getting the software versions right or synchronizing service starts across nodes that way -- CM can handle it for you.

 

If you're committed to a package-based approach, that's fine. But if you're not, please consider going forward with parcels. 

Cloudera Employee
Posts: 578
Registered: ‎01-20-2014

Re: installation problem

When you get some time, please provide the output of
# rpm -qa | grep cdh

The earlier rpm listing only shows that Cloudera Manager and agents are installed on the nodes. If you try and "create" a cluster, Cloudera Manager will install CDH packages on the nodes. Do try it out and let us know if anything is unclear
Regards,
Gautam Gopalakrishnan
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎04-21-2015

Re: installation problem

Hello

 

Sorry for delayment,

 

Screenshots from WEB GUI and rpm command outputs in following lines 

 

Thanks

2015-06-24 10_02_19-Inspector Results - Cloudera Manager.jpg

2015-06-24 10_03_46-Inspector Results - Cloudera Manager.jpg

 

2015-06-24 10_04_28-.jpg

 

2015-06-24 10_18_48-Home - Cloudera Manager.jpg

 

2015-06-24 10_19_33-nahdp1_data.jpg

Cloudera Employee
Posts: 578
Registered: ‎01-20-2014

Re: installation problem

Have you tried the Add Hosts wizard in the Hosts tab in Cloudera Manager? From the rpm output, no CDH software is installed, just the RPM repository is set on each node.
Regards,
Gautam Gopalakrishnan
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎04-21-2015

Re: installation problem

Hello 

 

Removed everything from first namenode, installed again

--> cluster is ok with some warnings regarding to Hbase and zookeeper
--> HDFS is ok

Thanks for your help

 

Announcements