Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-27-2013

Getting error while uploading the sample config files to zookeeper

Im using CDH 5 and was following the below tutorial to set up Cloudera Search using Solr.

 

http://beta.cloudera.com/search/docs/Cloudera-Search-Installation-Guide.pdf

 

The installation worked fine and I was ablt to go to the Solr admin console. And in my configuration Zookeeper, YARN and Solr all are running in the same VM and all of them as single node clusters. After making sure the isntallation worked and admin UI for Solr worked. I tried setting up the configuration files for the samples using the following commands

 

solrctl instancedir --create collection1 $HOME/solr_configs

 

And after that I get error stating "Error: can't upload configuration". When checked the log file I get the following error

 

2013-12-27 19:46:10,261 INFO org.apache.solr.common.cloud.ZkStateReader: Updating cloud state from ZooKeeper...
2013-12-27 19:46:10,261 ERROR org.apache.solr.cloud.Overseer: Exception in Overseer main queue loop
java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Path must not end with / character
at org.apache.zookeeper.common.PathUtils.validatePath(PathUtils.java:58)
at org.apache.zookeeper.ZooKeeper.getChildren(ZooKeeper.java:1450)
at org.apache.solr.common.cloud.SolrZkClient$6.execute(SolrZkClient.java:235)
at org.apache.solr.common.cloud.SolrZkClient$6.execute(SolrZkClient.java:232)
at org.apache.solr.common.cloud.ZkCmdExecutor.retryOperation(ZkCmdExecutor.java:65)
at org.apache.solr.common.cloud.SolrZkClient.getChildren(SolrZkClient.java:232)
at org.apache.solr.common.cloud.SolrZkClient.clean(SolrZkClient.java:618)
at org.apache.solr.cloud.Overseer$ClusterStateUpdater.removeCore(Overseer.java:642)
at org.apache.solr.cloud.Overseer$ClusterStateUpdater.processMessage(Overseer.java:182)
at org.apache.solr.cloud.Overseer$ClusterStateUpdater.run(Overseer.java:142)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:724)
2013-12-27 19:46:11,763 INFO org.apache.solr.common.cloud.ZkStateReader: Updating cloud state from ZooKeeper...
2013-12-27 19:46:11,764 ERROR org.apache.solr.cloud.Overseer: Exception in Overseer main queue loop
java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Path must not end with / character
at org.apache.zookeeper.common.PathUtils.validatePath(PathUtils.java:58)
at org.apache.zookeeper.ZooKeeper.getChildren(ZooKeeper.java:1450)
at org.apache.solr.common.cloud.SolrZkClient$6.execute(SolrZkClient.java:235)
at org.apache.solr.common.cloud.SolrZkClient$6.execute(SolrZkClient.java:232)
at org.apache.solr.common.cloud.ZkCmdExecutor.retryOperation(ZkCmdExecutor.java:65)
at org.apache.solr.common.cloud.SolrZkClient.getChildren(SolrZkClient.java:232)
at org.apache.solr.common.cloud.SolrZkClient.clean(SolrZkClient.java:618)
at org.apache.solr.cloud.Overseer$ClusterStateUpdater.removeCore(Overseer.java:642)
at org.apache.solr.cloud.Overseer$ClusterStateUpdater.processMessage(Overseer.java:182)
at org.apache.solr.cloud.Overseer$ClusterStateUpdater.run(Overseer.java:142)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:724)

 

Please help me how to proceed further. Thank you.

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-27-2013

Re: Getting error while uploading the sample config files to zookeeper

I have tried so many options

 

1) deleting the version-2 folder suggested in one forum - didnt work and got the same error

2) by providing the --zk and --solr option - didnt work and got the same error

3) deleting the files in version-2 folder and restarting the zookeeper - didnt work as well

 

Any help is much appreciated. Im stuck right now. Please help me. (NOTE - using google compute engine for the vm instances and cent os 6)

Cloudera Employee
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎09-17-2013

Re: Getting error while uploading the sample config files to zookeeper

[ Edited ]

Hi Lalapet,

 

I'm not sure what the "version-2" folder refers to?  Is this a folder in your config directory?

 

Could you print the names of the config files you want to use, i.e.:

$ cd $HOME/solr_configs

$ find .

 

Also, could you print what is currently in zookeeper?  Type "zookeeper-client" to get into the zookeeper client, then run the following commands:

ls /solr

ls /solr/configs

ls /solr/configs/collection1

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-27-2013

Re: Getting error while uploading the sample config files to zookeeper

I got the following for  $ cd $HOME/solr_configs and $ find .

 

.
./conf
./conf/admin-extra.html
./conf/mapping-FoldToASCII.txt
./conf/currency.xml
./conf/spellings.txt
./conf/admin-extra.menu-top.html
./conf/solrconfig.xml
./conf/elevate.xml
./conf/lang
./conf/lang/stoptags_ja.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_gl.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_ca.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_id.txt
./conf/lang/contractions_fr.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_es.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_pt.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_sv.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_en.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_fi.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_tr.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_th.txt
./conf/lang/hyphenations_ga.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_da.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_de.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_fr.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_ja.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_ro.txt
./conf/lang/stemdict_nl.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_it.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_hi.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_ar.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_lv.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_hu.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_eu.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_hy.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_el.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_fa.txt
./conf/lang/contractions_it.txt
./conf/lang/contractions_ca.txt
./conf/lang/contractions_ga.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_no.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_bg.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_ga.txt
./conf/lang/userdict_ja.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_cz.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_ru.txt
./conf/lang/stopwords_nl.txt
./conf/schema.xml
./conf/stopwords.txt
./conf/admin-extra.menu-bottom.html
./conf/synonyms.txt
./conf/mapping-ISOLatin1Accent.txt
./conf/scripts.conf
./conf/xslt
./conf/xslt/updateXml.xsl
./conf/xslt/luke.xsl
./conf/xslt/example_rss.xsl
./conf/xslt/example_atom.xsl
./conf/xslt/example.xsl
./conf/protwords.txt
./conf/update-script.js
./conf/velocity
./conf/velocity/VM_global_library.vm
./conf/velocity/pagination_bottom.vm
./conf/velocity/pagination_top.vm
./conf/velocity/facet_pivot.vm
./conf/velocity/debug.vm
./conf/velocity/mime_type_lists.vm
./conf/velocity/cluster.vm
./conf/velocity/header.vm
./conf/velocity/head.vm
./conf/velocity/query_form.vm
./conf/velocity/jquery.autocomplete.js
./conf/velocity/facet_fields.vm
./conf/velocity/hit.vm
./conf/velocity/hit_grouped.vm
./conf/velocity/richtext_doc.vm
./conf/velocity/facet_ranges.vm
./conf/velocity/browse.vm
./conf/velocity/footer.vm
./conf/velocity/query_group.vm
./conf/velocity/facets.vm
./conf/velocity/tabs.vm
./conf/velocity/results_list.vm
./conf/velocity/product_doc.vm
./conf/velocity/error.vm
./conf/velocity/jquery.autocomplete.css
./conf/velocity/facet_queries.vm
./conf/velocity/did_you_mean.vm
./conf/velocity/main.css
./conf/velocity/query.vm
./conf/velocity/README.txt
./conf/velocity/hit_plain.vm
./conf/velocity/query_spatial.vm
./conf/velocity/join_doc.vm
./conf/velocity/cluster_results.vm
./conf/velocity/suggest.vm
./conf/velocity/layout.vm

 

 

ls /solr
[aliases.json, solr.xml, live_nodes, overseer, overseer_elect, collections, clusterstate.json]

 

ls /solr/configs
Node does not exist: /solr/configs

 

ls /solr/configs/collection1
Node does not exist: /solr/configs/collection1

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-27-2013

Re: Getting error while uploading the sample config files to zookeeper

I tried running the command again as follows

 

$ solrctl --zk 127.0.0.1:2181/solr instancedir --create collection1 /home/g2ishan/solr_configs
Uploading configs from /home/g2ishan/solr_configs/conf to 127.0.0.1:2181/solr. This may take up to a minute.
Error: can't upload configuration

 

And I get the same error as above. However when I checled the solr log file I see the following now

 

2013-12-30 22:46:20,127 INFO org.apache.solr.servlet.SolrDispatchFilter: [admin] webapp=null path=/admin/cores params={indexInfo=false&_=1388443580079&wt=json} status=0 QTime=1
2013-12-30 22:46:20,250 INFO org.apache.solr.servlet.SolrDispatchFilter: [admin] webapp=null path=/admin/info/system params={_=1388443580204&wt=json} status=0 QTime=3
2013-12-30 22:46:21,890 INFO org.apache.solr.servlet.SolrDispatchFilter: [admin] webapp=null path=/admin/cores params={indexInfo=false&_=1388443581842&wt=json} status=0 QTime=0
2013-12-30 22:46:22,001 INFO org.apache.solr.servlet.SolrDispatchFilter: [admin] webapp=null path=/admin/info/system params={_=1388443581951&wt=json} status=0 QTime=3

 

Any help???

Cloudera Employee
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎09-17-2013

Re: Getting error while uploading the sample config files to zookeeper

Hmm...I definitely haven't seen this before. 

 

1) Those configs are just the configs generated with "solrctl instancedir --generate"?  Did you modify them at all?

2) I don't believe you answered me about the "version-2" folder

3) Do you have anything important on the cluster?  It might make sense to just start over if you don't have anything important.  Shut down solr, remove everything in /solr on hdfs, call "solrctl init --force" to blow away what's in zookeeper and restart solr.  I'd regenerate the config files to a new location to be safe as well.

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-27-2013

Re: Getting error while uploading the sample config files to zookeeper

Just to update. I started all over again and now everything works. May be I have missed something in the steps. I just literally followed the CDh5 installation guide step by step and also used the Cloudera Search Inatallation and User guide step by step. Everything worked. And to answer your questions

 

 

1) Those configs are just the configs generated with "solrctl instancedir --generate"?  Did you modify them at all? - Yes were creatign usign the solrctl command

 

2) I don't believe you answered me about the "version-2" folder - Got this from ZooKeeper adminstration guide (http://zookeeper.apache.org/doc/r3.3.3/zookeeperAdmin.html) Troibleshooting section which mentions "A server might not be able to read its database and fail to come up because of some file corruption in the transaction logs of the ZooKeeper server. You will see some IOException on loading ZooKeeper database. In such a case, make sure all the other servers in your ensemble are up and working. Use "stat" command on the command port to see if they are in good health. After you have verified that all the other servers of the ensemble are up, you can go ahead and clean the database of the corrupt server. Delete all the files in datadir/version-2 and datalogdir/version-2/. Restart the server."

 

3) Do you have anything important on the cluster?  It might make sense to just start over if you don't have anything important.  Shut down solr, remove everything in /solr on hdfs, call "solrctl init --force" to blow away what's in zookeeper and restart solr.  I'd regenerate the config files to a new location to be safe as well. - I wanted to do this, but I started all over again from first as I mentioned above

 

Thank you for the quick feedback this definitely helps. Thank you.

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-30-2016

Re: Getting error while uploading the sample config files to zookeeper

I had the same error.

 

The solution was simple, I was pointing to a Follower Zookeeper node instead of the Leader. When I pointed to the Leader it worked out fine.

Announcements