Reply
Highlighted
Explorer
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-28-2017
Accepted Solution

Not able to open CDH 5 default quickstart VM

Not able to open CDH 5 default VM which requires min 4GB of RAM.

I'm using Virtualbox, quick start VM on desktop. After installing can Enterpirse & Express icons to launch but do not see to launch CDH 5 default VM .

My machine has total 8GB RAM and assigned 5GB RAM to VM so can't use Enterpirse & Express. Need to use default VM which reuires only 4GB.

 

I have donwloaded quickstart-vm-5.10.0.-0-virtualbox.

 
CDH and Cloudera Manager Version RAM Required by VM

CDH 5 (default) 4+ GiB*
Cloudera Express 8+ GiB*
Cloudera Enterprise (trial) 10+ GiB*

 

Thanks in advance!

Explorer
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-28-2017

Re: Not able to open CDH 5 default quickstart VM

How to launch CDH 5 default quickstart VM?

Posts: 609
Kudos: 69
Solutions: 36
Registered: ‎04-06-2015

Re: Not able to open CDH 5 default quickstart VM

You would use the express Icon to launch CDH5 default. 

 




Cy Jervis, Community Manager - I'm not an expert but will supply relevant content from time to time. :)

Learn more about the Cloudera Community:


Terms of Service


Community Guidelines


How to use the forum

Champion
Posts: 565
Registered: ‎05-16-2016

Re: Not able to open CDH 5 default quickstart VM

[ Edited ]

Step 1 

 

Open the terminal fire the below command 

 

sudo /home/cloudera/cloudera-manager --express --

TerminalTerminal

Step 2 

 

Wait patiently :) it will take some time because it has bring down certain service and again come up 

you should be able to see this to confirm that all the service are up and runining 

 

Success - Launch ScreenSuccess - Launch Screen

  

URL - to launch the Cloudera Manager Web UI in the browser

 

http://quickstart.cloudera:7180

 

 

Step 3  

 

after you click agree -> you will prompted in the login screen . 

USERNAME - admin 

PASSWORD - admin

Cloudera Manger WEB UICloudera Manger WEB UI

 

 

Intially all your service / instance will be in stop status You need to start it manually 

 

Please let me know if you need more information. 

 

 

Explorer
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-28-2017

Re: Not able to open CDH 5 default quickstart VM

Thank you very much for your detail reply.

But I would like to launch 'default' which required 4GB RAM not express.

Because express version requires 8GB and my virtual box has max 7GB.

 

How to launch default VM?

===============================

[cloudera@quickstart ~]$ sudo /home/cloudera/cloudera-manager --express

WARNING: It is highly recommended that you run Cloudera Express in a VM with
at least 8 GB of RAM.


You can override these checks by passing in the --force option,
e.g:

sudo /home/cloudera/cloudera-manager --force
[cloudera@quickstart ~]$

=========================

Explorer
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-28-2017

Re: Not able to open CDH 5 default quickstart VM

If I click on 'Express' icon there is WARNING that I need at least 8GB RAM.

 

I have bly 7GB RAM for my oracle virtual box.

 

So I am looking for option to launch 'default' which requirs 4 GB.

Champion
Posts: 565
Registered: ‎05-16-2016

Re: Not able to open CDH 5 default quickstart VM

[ Edited ]

 I dont know if you are using the quickstart for learning but I would suggest you to install just the CDH (manage it using commandline) and not use the cloudera manager to manage your clusters. or you have another option which I havent tried because i have a 12GB ram . 
How about using the installer .bin file PATH A installation of Cloudera manager in your VM. but it would requires internet as you will be downloding parcels and activating it across the clusters.Also since you are going to run the CM in low RAM resouce you might want to tweak  its maximum heap size by modifying -Xmx parameter in SCM init script /etc/default/cloudera-scm-server and down line just save some resouce you may have to shutdown few service which you are not using . 

Champion
Posts: 565
Registered: ‎05-16-2016

Re: Not able to open CDH 5 default quickstart VM

did you try using the --force which i mentioned ? 

Explorer
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-28-2017

Re: Not able to open CDH 5 default quickstart VM

yes with --force option it is working.

Then started all services as well but status of the most of the service is 'Concerning health', 'bad health'. This is due to less memory.

 

So wondring how I can start default which used only 4GB?

I'm using Oracle Virtualbox, quick start VM on my laptop.

I need it for hands-on online virtual training for 2 days.

Champion
Posts: 565
Registered: ‎05-16-2016

Re: Not able to open CDH 5 default quickstart VM

if you are able to bring up the cloudera manager then it is a good sign there is no such thing as default eithe you use cloudera manager express edition or enterprise edition , both comes with the preconfigured resource threshold precentage that it will check to see if the nodes are runining with adequate resouce , since you are accomdating it with a little RAM it is showing the health as bad . You have to manually go to the each servicec in the Cloudera manager UI change the resource threshold accordingly for example hdfs disk space , namenode heap size,secondarynamenode heap size , cloudera management's database free space , event server heap size etc . this is really going to be pain in the back Or as suggested you can manual manage the CDH by totally avoiding the cloudera manager and deploy Single Linux Node in Pseudo-distributed Mode . 

Announcements