Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Tutorial Excercise 1 - Avro Data Files are Not Created

New Contributor

I'm sure this is a repeat, but I've searched the forum and either haven't found an answer to my problem, or I have no clue what the proposed solutions are suggesting.

I'm completely new to big data, hadoop, and cloudera. I followed the first tutorial to the letter, copied and pasted all commands, and yet I'm sure I'm not getting the expected results. For example, the tutorial states: "

[cloudera@quickstart ~]$ hadoop fs -ls /user/hive/warehouse

Will show a folder for each of the tables."

Yet, when I copy and paste the command all that is returned is: "[cloudera@quickstart ~] $"

I've noticed that the sample screens in the tutorial have "rgardner - root@cloudera1:~ - ssh - 105x25," and have read in the forum that the commands given in the tutorial only work when in the home directory, but all the commands in the tutorial have "[cloudera@quickstart~]," so I don't understand why they wouldn't work from that directory. Furthermore, I wouldn't know how to get to the home directory if that were necessary.

Here is the terminal including my command. The only difference between mine and the tutorial is that mine is all on one line - a recommendation from the forum.

[cloudera@quickstart ~]$ sqoop import-all-tables -m 1 --connect jdbc:mysql://quickstart:3306/retail_db --username=retail_dba --password=cloudera --compression-codec=snappy --as-avrodatafile --warehouse-dir=/user/hive/warehouse
Warning: /usr/lib/sqoop/../accumulo does not exist! Accumulo imports will fail.
Please set $ACCUMULO_HOME to the root of your Accumulo installation.
15/11/24 05:58:47 INFO sqoop.Sqoop: Running Sqoop version: 1.4.5-cdh5.4.2
15/11/24 05:58:47 WARN tool.BaseSqoopTool: Setting your password on the command-line is insecure. Consider using -P instead.