New Contributor
Accepted Solution

Unable to launch (cloudera-quickstart-vm-5.4.2-0-vmware) on (VMware-player-5.0.4) in windows 7.

Hi All,

I am trying to launch "cloudera-quickstart-vm-5.4.2-0-vmware" on VM (VMware-player-5.0.4-1945795) but no luck. nothing is hapening.

I have installed 'VMware-player-5.0.4-1945795' in Windows 7 Enterprise with 8 GB RAM

Unzip 'cloudera-quickstart-vm-5.4.2-0-vmware' file using 7zip or winzip as well

open cloudera-quickstart-vm-5.4.2-0-vmware  files from VM Player.

Clicked on 'Play Virtual Machine'.

Nothing is coming on screen. uanable to proceed further.

Could you please help as i am new to VMs also I read couple of threads here saying that may be we need to change in BIOS settings. I don't know how to change.

Regards

Ankur

Cloudera Employee Sue
Cloudera Employee

Re: Unable to launch (cloudera-quickstart-vm-5.4.2-0-vmware) on (VMware-player-5.0.4) in windows 7.

Enabling virtualization in a PC is usually a step you take during boot up. As your system boots up, it will flash a message telling you to press a key (e.g. F1, F2, escape) to configure BIOS settings. If you have never run a VM on your laptop before, you will likely have to take this step.

The BIOS settings that must be enabled for VT-x support vary depending on the system vendor. Here is a VMware knowledge base article that may help: http://kb.vmware.com/kb/1003944 and here is another good reference that provides information specific to certain brands: http://amiduos.com/support/knowledge-base/article/enabling-virtualization-in-bios

New Contributor

Re: Unable to launch (cloudera-quickstart-vm-5.4.2-0-vmware) on (VMware-player-5.0.4) in windows 7.

Thanks for the information. it really means a lot. Now I am able to play the VM on top of windows 7. You rocks.

Cloudera Employee Sue
Cloudera Employee

Great! So glad it's working!

Explorer

Just curious to know your system details
Like how much ram and core do you have .
Could you tell me
New Contributor