Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-02-2017

problem in cloudera installation.....

As i am trying to install cloudera vm on laptop( 8gb ram and AMD processor) ,but at the last after booting Centos it shows a bug "soft lockup: CPU stuck for 10 sec" which prevents from further operation.....so how to hndle this bug such that i can proceed further????

Posts: 589
Kudos: 66
Solutions: 34
Registered: ‎04-06-2015

Re: problem in cloudera installation.....

There could be a multitude of things causing the Quickstart VM to have errors. The first thing I would check based on the error is the laptop specifications and what is allocated to the VM. You can read about the requirements and other tips in our community knowledge article on How to setup Cloudera Quickstart Virtual Machine.

 




Cy Jervis, Community Manager - I'm not an expert but will supply relevant content from time to time. :)

Learn more about the Cloudera Community:


Terms of Service


Community Guidelines


How to use the forum

New Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-02-2017

Re: problem in cloudera installation.....

i have checked it many times but nothing wrong with installation process ....cloudera vm is being installed in laptop with intel processor by same process but unfortunately not on AMD processor with same configuration ????

Posts: 589
Kudos: 66
Solutions: 34
Registered: ‎04-06-2015

Re: problem in cloudera installation.....

Can you provide some additional information? 

 

  • Descibe the laptop: CPU model and number of cores, amount of RAM and operating system
  • What resources from the laptop were allocated to the VM and which OS did you choose for the VM
  • Describe how you created the VM (manually or importing the appliance)

 




Cy Jervis, Community Manager - I'm not an expert but will supply relevant content from time to time. :)

Learn more about the Cloudera Community:


Terms of Service


Community Guidelines


How to use the forum

New Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-02-2017

Re: problem in cloudera installation.....

1 .<Processor>.AMD A8-6410 APU with AMD Radeon R5 graphics  2.00GHz.(LENOVO)

   <Ram> 8GB.

   <os> 64 bit   windows 8.1 pro.

2.4GB Ram is allocated to VM and OS is UBUNTU/LINUX.

3.I create the VM by importing appliance

Posts: 589
Kudos: 66
Solutions: 34
Registered: ‎04-06-2015

Re: problem in cloudera installation.....


imtikhan wrote:

1 .<Processor>.AMD A8-6410 APU with AMD Radeon R5 graphics  2.00GHz.(LENOVO)

   <Ram> 8GB.

   <os> 64 bit   windows 8.1 pro.

2.4GB Ram is allocated to VM and OS is UBUNTU/LINUX.

3.I create the VM by importing appliance


I'm happy to see that you used the import appliance option as it typically the best way to create the VM. I've been doing some reading on the error over at the VMWare community and see lots of mentions to check that virtualization is enabled in Bios. The error is also attributed to high CPU usage which means another program may be running on your computer that is hogging the CPU. Have you closed all background programs that do not need to be running at the time? 

 




Cy Jervis, Community Manager - I'm not an expert but will supply relevant content from time to time. :)

Learn more about the Cloudera Community:


Terms of Service


Community Guidelines


How to use the forum

New Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-02-2017

Re: problem in cloudera installation.....

Yes, i have closed unnecessary programs while running VM.

Posts: 589
Kudos: 66
Solutions: 34
Registered: ‎04-06-2015

Re: problem in cloudera installation.....

Can you confirm that virtualization is enabled in BIOS? Also how many cores does your processor have as compared to the amount of cores dedicated to the VM? 

 




Cy Jervis, Community Manager - I'm not an expert but will supply relevant content from time to time. :)

Learn more about the Cloudera Community:


Terms of Service


Community Guidelines


How to use the forum

New Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎08-02-2017

Re: problem in cloudera installation.....

Yes virtualisation is enabled and have Quad core processor for VM .

Posts: 589
Kudos: 66
Solutions: 34
Registered: ‎04-06-2015

Re: problem in cloudera installation.....

OK, if the laptop has a quad core processor, how many of them are dedicated to the VM?

 




Cy Jervis, Community Manager - I'm not an expert but will supply relevant content from time to time. :)

Learn more about the Cloudera Community:


Terms of Service


Community Guidelines


How to use the forum

Announcements