Reply
Expert Contributor
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎02-15-2016

Beeline connection with Imapla error

Hi ,

getting error while connecting to impala from beeline . host and ports are open . pls suggest 

 

[25761081@wuwcc9hddn01 ~]$ beeline -u "jdbc:hive2://hostname:25000/;principal=impala/hostname@CDH.PROD.COM"
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM warning: ignoring option MaxPermSize=512M; support was removed in 8.0
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM warning: Using incremental CMS is deprecated and will likely be removed in a future release
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM warning: ignoring option MaxPermSize=512M; support was removed in 8.0
scan complete in 4ms
Connecting to jdbc:hive2://hostname:25000/;principal=impala/hostname@CDH.PROD.COM
Error: Could not open client transport with JDBC Uri: jdbc:hive2://hostname:25000/;principal=impala/hostname@CDH.PROD.COM: java.net.ConnectException: Connection refused (state=08S01,code=0)
Beeline version 1.1.0-cdh5.7.5 by Apache Hive
0: jdbc:hive2://hostname:2 (closed)>

Cloudera Employee
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-11-2015

Re: Beeline connection with Imapla error

 

beeline -u "jdbc:hive2://hostname:25000/;principal=impala/hostname@CDH.PROD.COM"

 

Port should be 21050(jdbc client port) and not 25000(webui port) and hostname should match the hostname of the impalad to which you connect.

 

beeline -u "jdbc:hive2://hostname:21050/;principal=impala/hostname@CDH.PROD.COM"

 

if you are using loadbalancer then the hostname should match the hostname of the loadbalancer

 

Expert Contributor
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎02-15-2016

Re: Beeline connection with Imapla error

Thanks venkat
My bad yes i used the port 21050 and hostname is same to the impalad hostname but still the same error
beeline -u "jdbc:hive2://hostname:21050 /;principal=impala/hostname@CDH.PROD.COM"
Cloudera Employee
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎12-11-2015

Re: Beeline connection with Imapla error

Can you please double check the principal used?

 

It should match exactly the value of "principal" property in the http://<impalad-hostname>:25000/varz page.

 

If you still face error in connecting inspite of using the correct principal name - then can you please post the error that you notice on the impalad logs

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-31-2017

Re: Beeline connection with Imapla error

Got the same issue. Did you finally figure it out?

Expert Contributor
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎02-15-2016

Re: Beeline connection with Imapla error

yeah its working for me but not sure now what was the problem . make sure firewall is open
Announcements