Topics: 51
Kudos: 75
Solutions: 49

INTRODUCE YOURSELF: Please Reply here to tell us about you!

This is the thread for us all to get to know each other a little better.  Please reply to this topic with a quick introduction of yourself.  Include details like your background, what industry and job role you are in, what brings you to this community, what projects you are working on or planning, and any other interesting facts about you.

We encourage all our members to participate in this thread.  It can be a great place to make connections with other professionals, get ideas for new projects, or just enjoy a little downtime conversing with other big data practitioners.

Re: INTRODUCE YOURSELF: Please Reply here to tell us about you!

[ Edited ]

I'll kick this off with my own introduction.  My background is in UNIX systems administration, Java development, application support and enterprise software.  I had about 15 years of experience in a wide range of industries, public and private sectors, and even entrepreneurial endeavors when I joined Cloudera.

I joined Cloudera in 2011 as a support engineer (we call them Customer Operations Engineers) and worked for two years in that role, becoming our Hbase SME team lead before founding our online community and becoming Community Manager.  I couldn't be more excited about Cloudera, this community, and the places all of you smart people are taking Hadoop and big data!  In my opinion, "Big Data" is the best place I've ever been in my career and I feel very fortunate to have stumbled upon Cloudera and Hadoop.

When I'm not working, I enjoy mountain biking and training for events like Triathlons and Tough Mudders.  I also stay very busy with my wife and kids, we love live music, camping, hiking, and dining out.  I play guitar to reduce stress and I like beer.  Especially local craft beers.  :-)

You can find me on LinkedIn and Twitter,  or simply direct message me here in the community.

Kudos: 67
Solutions: 34