Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Datanode socket timeout setting

New Contributor

Hi.  I'm new to hadoop and Cloudera.  I have a 5 node cluster with 3 data nodes.  I have a third party client program that is opening hdfs files and sending them data as it arrive in a stream.  On a timer, every 10 min, the client closes the files and opens new ones for writing.  Before the close can happen, the datanode socket connection times out with this error:

2016-05-10 14:17:20,165 INFO org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.server.datanode.DataNode: Exception for BP-1298278955-172.31.1.79-1461125109305:blk_1073807048_66356
java.net.SocketTimeoutException: 60000 millis timeout while waiting for channel to be ready for read. ch : java.nio.channels.SocketChannel[connected local=/172.31.15.196:50010 remote=/172.31.1.81:57017]
at org.apache.hadoop.net.SocketIOWithTimeout.doIO(SocketIOWithTimeout.java:164)
at org.apache.hadoop.net.SocketInputStream.read(SocketInputStream.java:161)
at org.apache.hadoop.net.SocketInputStream.read(SocketInputStream.java:131)
at java.io.BufferedInputStream.fill(BufferedInputStream.java:235)
at java.io.BufferedInputStream.read1(BufferedInputStream.java:275)
at java.io.BufferedInputStream.read(BufferedInputStream.java:334)
at java.io.DataInputStream.read(DataInputStream.java:149)
at org.apache.hadoop.io.IOUtils.readFully(IOUtils.java:199)
at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.protocol.datatransfer.PacketReceiver.doReadFully(PacketReceiver.java:213)
at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.protocol.datatransfer.PacketReceiver.doRead(PacketReceiver.java:134)
at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.protocol.datatransfer.PacketReceiver.receiveNextPacket(PacketReceiver.java:109)
at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.server.datanode.BlockReceiver.receivePacket(BlockReceiver.java:500)
at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.server.datanode.BlockReceiver.receiveBlock(BlockReceiver.java:894)