Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2017

Re: HBase Master: Failed to become active master

I have same doubt what happens when i delete "hdfs dfs  -rm -r /hbase/*" will lost data/namespaces in HBASE or HDFS?

Cloudera Employee
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-08-2013

Re: HBase Master: Failed to become active master

Hi Sandeep,

 

This command will remove ALL HBase data... Snapshots, tables, WALs, etc. So be very careful with it.

 

JMS

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2017

Re: HBase Master: Failed to become active master

so when the above command delete everything i will lost all HBASE tables/WAL's. Is the above steps recommened in Production environment?

Cloudera Employee
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-08-2013

Re: HBase Master: Failed to become active master

It depends what you want to achieve, right? If you goal is to repair your production cluster, then it might be relevant. If you goal is just to test and see  what it does, then what ever command it is, it should not be tested in production?

 

Basically, the command just does what I described. It deletes everything. It's you to decide if it's relevent for your production environment or not. If you goal is just to drop a table, or all tables, then the shell is better.

 

Are you facing any issue with your production environment?

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-07-2017

Re: HBase Master: Failed to become active master

No...we don't have any issues so far with HBASE. I am just trying to understand the concept of it.

 

Thanks for your assistance :)

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-26-2018

Re: HBase Master: Failed to become active master

Hi,

 

Can anyone help me with this, getting this error and HBase master is getting after every successfull restart.

 

Could not obtain block: BP-892504517-172.31.16.10-1537889422648:blk_1073741826_1002 file=/hbase/hbase.version No live nodes contain current block Block locations: Dead nodes: . Throwing a BlockMissingException

at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.DFSInputStream.refetchLocations(DFSInputStream.java:1040)         at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.DFSInputStream.chooseDataNode(DFSInputStream.java:1023)         at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.DFSInputStream.chooseDataNode(DFSInputStream.java:1002)         at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.DFSInputStream.blockSeekTo(DFSInputStream.java:642)         at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.DFSInputStream.readWithStrategy(DFSInputStream.java:895)         at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.DFSInputStream.read(DFSInputStream.java:954)         at java.io.DataInputStream.read(DataInputStream.java:149)         at org.apache.hadoop.io.IOUtils.readFully(IOUtils.java:201)         at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.util.FSUtils.getVersion(FSUtils.java:606)         at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.util.FSUtils.checkVersion(FSUtils.java:689)         at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.master.MasterFileSystem.checkRootDir(MasterFileSystem.java:500)         at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.master.MasterFileSystem.createInitialFileSystemLayout(MasterFileSystem.java:169)         at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.master.MasterFileSystem.<init>(MasterFileSystem.java:144)         at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.master.HMaster.finishActiveMasterInitialization(HMaster.java:704)         at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.master.HMaster.access$500(HMaster.java:194)         at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.master.HMaster$1.run(HMaster.java:1834)         at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:748)

Cloudera Employee
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎07-08-2013

Re: HBase Master: Failed to become active master

Hi Ayush,

 

Have you tied to run hdfs fsdk / ?

 

JM

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-26-2018

Re: HBase Master: Failed to become active master

Hi jmspaggi,

 

Thanks alot for your reply.

 

I was able to resolve the issue by reinstalling Hbase alone.

 

Regards

Ayush

Announcements