Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Unable to run multiple pyspark sessions

Explorer

I am new to coudera. I have installed cloudera express on a Centos 7 VM, and created a cluster with 4 nodes(another 4 VMs). I ssh to the master node and run: pyspark

This works but only for one session. If I open another console and run pyspark I will get the following error:

WARN util.Utils: Service 'SparkUI' could not bind on port 4040. Attempting port 4041.

And it gets stuck there and does nothing until I close the other session running pyspark! Any idea why this is happening and how I can fix this so multiple sessions/user can run pyspark? Am I missing some configurations somewhere?

Thanks in advance for your help.

11 REPLIES 11

Champion

@hedy

In general one port will allow one session (one connection) at a time, so your 1st session connects to the default port 4040 and your 2nd session is trying to connect to the same port but got the bind issue, so trying to connect to the next port but it is not working

there are two things that you need to check

1. please make sure the port 4041 is open 

2. On your second session, when you run pyspark, pass the avilable port as a parameter.

Ex: Long back i've used spark-shell with different port as parameter, pls try similar option for pyspark

session1: $ spark-shell --conf spark.ui.port=4040
     session2: $ spark-shell --conf spark.ui.port=4041

if 4041 is not working you can try upto 4057, i think thease are the available port for spark by default

Explorer

Thank you for your help. I tried different ports, but it still doesn't work,unless I kill the running session and start another one. Can it be that I had wrong configuriation(s) during cloudera installation?  Or changes needed to be made in any configuration files or somewhere else?

Champion

@hedy