Reply
Explorer
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎10-27-2014

Oozie timezone issues

I've run an example hive coordinators. The job going well but here are some issues i meet:

 

1. I'm from VietNam, when i choose timezone = GMT+7, i get error, when searching for this error i found that it should be GMT+07:00, and problem is GMT+07:00 won't show up in the combo box.

 

2. So i choosing Asia/Ho_Chi_Minh instead, and another problem is i must choose the timezone base on Universaltime. Example:

I want to run from 10:00 AM to 03:00 PM 3 March, i have to choose the time is from 03:00 AM to 08:00 AM 3 March base on UTC, why i can't edit like my own time even afte i choose Asia/Ho_Chi_Minh.

 

3. Final problem is when i run this coordinators: the timezone in the job info show up a complete different.

Here is my oozie deffinion:

<coordinator-app name="simple_1"

frequency="0,5,10 * * * *"
start="2015-03-03T03:00Z" end="2015-03-03T08:00Z" timezone="Asia/Ho_Chi_Minh"
xmlns="uri:oozie:coordinator:0.2"
>

and here is the info of the first hour:

Mon, 02 Mar 2015 19:00:00

Mon, 02 Mar 2015 19:05:00

Mon, 02 Mar 2015 19:10:00

 

Now, why it is 02 Mar 19:00 ?

 

Explorer
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎10-27-2014

Re: Oozie timezone issues

Can someone help me with this ? 

 

Thanks !

Contributor
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎10-19-2014

Re: Oozie timezone issues

I have observed the same issue. Have you raised a support call with Cloudera Support for this?
Cloudera Employee
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎07-08-2013

Re: Oozie timezone issues

The "timezone" attribute in the Coordiantor is a little misleading.  You still have to specify your dates in UTC (hence why they end with 'Z').  The "timezone" attribute is only used for daylight saving time calculations.  

 

Software Engineer | Cloudera, Inc. | http://cloudera.com
Explorer
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎09-09-2015

Re: Oozie timezone issues

Timezone attribute is also not doing daylight saving time calculations. I tested recently after DST changes in this month. the timezone value I kept is "America/New_York"  

Does that mean timezone attribute just lies without any help?

Announcements