Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

AWS APACHE SPOT: Cloudera director bootstrap failing with key error

Explorer

Hi,

I am new to Cloudera and am trying to use the Cloudera director to spin up an AWS cluster to test Apache Spot in accordance with the instructions given here -

https://blog.cloudera.com/blog/2018/02/apache-spot-incubating-and-cloudera-on-aws-in-60-minutes/

Having installed the Cloudera director according to the instructions mentioned above, the bootstrap command

"cloudera-director bootstrap spot-director.conf"

fails for me with the following message in the logs (taken from~/.cloudera-director/logs/application.log) -

[2018-06-01 18:59:27.127 +0000] ERROR [main] - c.c.l.commands.BootstrapCommand: Failed to parse environment configuration
java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: Please provide either a password or a private key
at com.google.common.base.Preconditions.checkArgument(Preconditions.java:122)
at com.cloudera.launchpad.common.ssh.SshCredentials.<init>(SshCredentials.java:80)
at com.cloudera.launchpad.common.ssh.SshCredentialsBuilder.build(SshCredentialsBuilder.java:94)
at com.cloudera.launchpad.templates.ConfigToSshCredentials.apply(ConfigToSshCredentials.java:92)

The spot-director.conf references the location of my private key for ssh -

----

ssh {
username: ec2-user # for RHEL image
privateKey: ${?path_to_private_key} # with an absolute path to .pem file
}

-----
And I confirmed that the environment variable is set -

ubuntu@ip-172-31-28-149:~/apache-spot-60-min$ echo $path_to_private_key
/home/ubuntu/.ssh/id_rsa

Any idea what could be going wrong here ? Any help would be appreciated !

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Super Collaborator

Hi sg321,

Your configuration appears correct, including the substitution of the environment variable for the private key path.