Reply
Expert Contributor
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎08-07-2017

Can we change rack assignment through cloudera manager

Hello All,

 

We are currently having the default rack configured for all our machines in our cluster.

 

And I want to assign different racks for the nodes.

 

Can I just do by assigning rack option in cloudera manager ? Or need to do some network related changes as well.

 

Please confirm.

 

Thanks,

Master
Posts: 430
Registered: ‎07-01-2015

Re: Can we change rack assignment through cloudera manager

No network change needed.
Highlighted
Expert Contributor
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎08-07-2017

Re: Can we change rack assignment through cloudera manager

@Tomas79,

Thanks for inputs.

Expert Contributor
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎08-07-2017

Re: Can we change rack assignment through cloudera manager

@Tomas79,

 

Have one more query.. Does rack toplogy applies to the datanodes only? and do we need to restart HDFS and YARN services after rack assignment.

 

Thanks,

Master
Posts: 430
Registered: ‎07-01-2015

Re: Can we change rack assignment through cloudera manager

No it applies to the Namenode and also YARN Resource Manager. I think you need to restart both, because YARN RM is displaying the rack location on its UI,.
Expert Contributor
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎08-07-2017

Re: Can we change rack assignment through cloudera manager

@Tomas79,

 

Thank you. What if we have dedicated nodes for hive and hbase and other services. Can we include them as well into rack assignment? 

 

I believe there is no need to add edgenodes to rack assignment.

 

Please confirm.

 

Thanks,