Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Having issues updating CM

Explorer

Please note that I am very new to both the Cloudera and Linux worlds.  I have a completely development environment that I am playing with, trying to get my feet wet.  I have been successful in doing a minor CDH upgrade from 5.3.2 to 5.3.8 but I am wanting to understand how to to a more major version upgrade.  The version that I am trying to get to is 5.4.1-1. 

From what I have read, when doing a major version change, the CM has to be updated first.  This is supported in my mind by the fact that CM seems not to recognize the 5.4.1-1 parcel I have placed in the same directory as my earlier upgrade that worked flawlessly.  This was done using the Upgrade Cluster wizard.

I have tried following the directions here but get stuck under the instructions to "Upgrade Cloudera Manager Server (Packages)"  I assume this is my ignorance of Linux shell command but I have no idea that the statements:

[cloudera-manager]
# Packages for Cloudera Manager, Version 5, on RedHat or CentOS 6 x86_64
name=Cloudera Manager
baseurl=http://archive.cloudera.com/cm5/redhat/6/x86_64/cm/5/
gpgkey = http://archive.cloudera.com/cm5/redhat/6/x86_64/cm/RPM-GPG-KEY-cloudera
gpgcheck = 1

mean?

It seems to me as though this is going out to look for the CM version and pull it down but I am not certain.

It would be a great help if anyone could please help me out and let me know if I am even headed in the right direction here.

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Super Collaborator

Not sure what that hdfs error is, probably becuae you did not upgrade the CM Server. 

Here are some quick directions.   You will need to login to the host running CM Server and the hosts running the CM agents.

1) Stop Cloudera manager services in the Cloudera Manager UI