Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Using Python to delete Hue/Cloudera users

Rising Star

Hi,

My background:

I am new to Hadoop/Hue/Cloudera and am in the process of digging through the source of the page where users are displayed.  I do have web development experience and have developed web based solutions for many years.  I have tried to use the "requests" module in Python and although I can get a CSRF token and load pages, I'm not getting everything as it is not loading the .js and .css files because they are cached.  So, some things aren't loading like the user list.

I have been researching for a few days and come to the conclusion that it's not going to be an easy task to figure out how to delete users using Python.

We get a feed from HR with a list of users to remove from Hue and Cloudera.  We need to automate the process of removing users from the 2 apps.

It appears the process of deletion on the page is done purely with Javascript.  I haven't resorted to tcpdump to see what call is being made but am close.

The options I see are:

• Use tcpdump and figure out the call made and use the Python "requests" module to post the same
  • Use an API that, as far as I can tell, does not exist
  • Use Django models and functions to remove the users.

Does anyone have any experience and would not mind sharing how they did it or how they think it can be done?

Thanks!

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Master Guru

@pollard,

You cannot use the CM API to delete Hue users.

I am not certain if the cm_api is compatible with Python 3.

If Python is not working for you, you can try using the REST api:

https://cloudera.github.io/cm_api/apidocs/v5.15.0/path__users_-userName-.html

Here is an example of how to delete a CM user named "deleteme"

# curl -u admin:admin -H "Content-Type: application/json" -X DELETE http://cm_host.example.com:7180/api/v19/users/deleteme