Reply
Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎12-23-2015

Re: adding a Kafka service failed

we followed this official link to test kafka:
http://www.cloudera.com/documentation/kafka/latest/topics/kafka_command_line.html

not sure why ther's no any error message, it got back to prompt
Contributor
Posts: 36
Registered: ‎12-23-2015

Re: adding a Kafka service failed

it works with the following command:
kafka-topics --create --zookeeper cloudera01 --topic ggz --partitions 1 --replication-factor 1
kafka-console-producer --broker-list cloudera02:9092 --topic ggz
kafka-console-consumer --zookeeper cloudera01:2181 --topic ggz --from-beginning
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-27-2016

Re: adding a Kafka service failed

Fantastic post bro

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-29-2014

Re: adding a Kafka service failed

Could you please give me what exactly to put into these fields on CDH kafka configuring.

1) Fill in "Source Brokers List" --> "nameOfClouderaKafkaBrokerServer.yourdomain.com:9092". This is the Server (or Servers) where you configured the Kafka Broker (NOT the MirrorMaker).



2) Fill in "Destination Brokers List" --> "nameOfRemoteBrokerServer.otherdomain.com:9092". This is supposed to be a remote Cluster that will receive Topics sent over by your MirrorMaker. If you have one, put in that one. Otherwise just put in another Server in your network, whatever Server.
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-29-2014

Re: adding a Kafka service failed

I have given Destination Broker List as
quickstart.cloudera:9092

Source Broker List as
quickstart.cloudera:9092
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-15-2017

Re: adding a Kafka service failed

Yeah its worked for me. Thanks for the solution

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-15-2017

Re: adding a Kafka service failed

[ Edited ]

Hi Joe,

 

nameOfClouderaKafkaBrokerServer.yourdomain.com:9092

 

What are the actual values we can give for nameOfClouderaKafkaBrokerServer? yourdomain?

Is port number 9092 same always?

 

Please ignore .. i see this questions is answered in Page 2 :) Very good topic. 

 

Thanks,

Chandra

 

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-15-2017

Re: adding a Kafka service failed

Hi,

 

I followed same process till here.

Still getting errors as below. Could you please suggest what else i can do.

 

Image 1.png

Image 2.png

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-16-2018

Re: adding a Kafka service failed

thank you very much it really helped me

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-09-2019

Re: adding a Kafka service failed

Did you solve the problem? 

Announcements