Reply
Explorer
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-12-2014
Accepted Solution

Flume

Hi,

 

when i start the flume-ng i am getting the below error,

 

 

at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:662)

2014-08-04 17:54:50,417 WARN hdfs.HDFSEventSink: HDFS IO error

org.apache.hadoop.ipc.RemoteException: java.io.IOException: File /logs/prod/jboss/2014/08/04/web07.prod.hs18.lan.1407154543459.tmp could only be replicated to 0 nodes, instead of 1

        at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.server.namenode.FSNamesystem.getAdditionalBlock(FSNamesystem.java:1637)

        at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.server.namenode.NameNode.addBlock(NameNode.java:757)

        at sun.reflect.GeneratedMethodAccessor11.invoke(Unknown Source)

        at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)

        at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:597)

        at org.apache.hadoop.ipc.RPC$Server.call(RPC.java:578)

        at org.apache.hadoop.ipc.Server$Handler$1.run(Server.java:1393)

        at org.apache.hadoop.ipc.Server$Handler$1.run(Server.java:1389)

        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)

        at javax.security.auth.Subject.doAs(Subject.java:396)

        at org.apache.hadoop.security.UserGroupInformation.doAs(UserGroupInformation.java:1136)

        at org.apache.hadoop.ipc.Server$Handler.run(Server.java:1387)

 

 

 

 

how can we fix the problem?

 

 

-Thankyou

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-12-2014

Re: Flume

This means that Namenode does not have available datanode to write. This could because of varity of reasons. Please check the logs.

Explorer
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-12-2014

Re: Flume

i gone through the logs and i come to know that this is purely HDFS issue not flume,

 

so i fix it as follows:

 

step1:

 

stop all the services

 

Step2:

 

started name node

 

then when am trying to start the data nodes on the 3 servers,one of the server throwig the error message 

/var/log/  ----No such file/directory

/var/run --No such file/directory

 

But these files are existing so i check the permissions on those two differ from second server to third server

 

So given the permission to those directories to  be in sink

 

and then started all the services then flume working fine,

 

thats it.

 

 

-Thankyou