Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-28-2018

not able to activate KAFKA

hi all,

I downloaded the Kafka parcel and distributed it but when it comes to activation, its showing error "CDH (5.2 and higher) parcel required for KAFKA (3.0.0-1.3.0.0.p0.40) is not available". I am following the steps to install Kafka through cloudera manager from below given link 

 

https://www.cloudera.com/documentation/kafka/latest/topics/kafka_installing.html#concept_ngx_4l4_4r

 

I even checked my cloudera manager version from support>about navigation and it's showing below message

 

Expert Contributor
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎01-08-2018

Re: not able to activate KAFKA

The error is about CDH and not Cloudera Manager.

The specific version of Cloudera Kafka needs both to be at least, version 5.13.

Posts: 1,903
Kudos: 435
Solutions: 307
Registered: ‎07-31-2013

Re: not able to activate KAFKA

Also, if you do already have CDH, is it package managed or parcel managed?
You can tell by looking at the top of the cluster services list on CM home
page, or by visiting the little gift box icon on top right that takes you
to the parcels management page.

For using Kafka parcel, ensure you use CDH as parcels too. You can do a
quick migration following this:
https://www.cloudera.com/documentation/enterprise/latest/topics/cm_ig_migrating_packages_to_parcels....
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-15-2019

Re: not able to activate KAFKA

Hi, Harsh,

How can I tell if I am using package managed or parcels managed? I am using 5.13.0 dockerized CDH express version. And I meet this issue too. I cannot activate kafka after installing the kafka parcel.

Posts: 1,903
Kudos: 435
Solutions: 307
Registered: ‎07-31-2013

Re: not able to activate KAFKA

The docker version (5.13.x) of quickstart uses a package based installation
by default.
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-15-2019

Re: not able to activate KAFKA

[ Edited ]

Thank you for your quick reply!!  So can I try to convert to parcel managed referred in this link?

https://www.cloudera.com/documentation/enterprise/latest/topics/cm_ig_migrating_packages_to_parcels....

 

Or do I need other installation environment?

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-15-2019

Re: not able to activate KAFKA

OK, leave me and I will do a clean installation with parcels. Thanks Harsh. :-)