Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-20-2015

HMaster not starting....

I have configured Hadoop 2.6.0 successfully. Next, I am trying to install Hbase 0.98.9 but am having trouble starting up Hbase.

I get the below error message:

2015-07-20 10:55:22,082 FATAL org.apache.hadoop.hbase.master.HMaster: Unhandled exception. Starting shutdown.
org.apache.hadoop.ipc.RemoteException: Server IPC version 9 cannot communicate with client version 4
    at org.apache.hadoop.ipc.Client.call(Client.java:1070)
    at org.apache.hadoop.ipc.RPC$Invoker.invoke(RPC.java:225)
    at com.sun.proxy.$Proxy7.getProtocolVersion(Unknown Source)
    at org.apache.hadoop.ipc.RPC.getProxy(RPC.java:396)
    at org.apache.hadoop.ipc.RPC.getProxy(RPC.java:379)
    at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.DFSClient.createRPCNamenode(DFSClient.java:119)
    at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.DFSClient.<init>(DFSClient.java:238)
    at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.DFSClient.<init>(DFSClient.java:203)
    at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.DistributedFileSystem.initialize(DistributedFileSystem.java:89)
    at org.apache.hadoop.fs.FileSystem.createFileSystem(FileSystem.java:1386)
    at org.apache.hadoop.fs.FileSystem.access$200(FileSystem.java:66)
    at org.apache.hadoop.fs.FileSystem$Cache.get(FileSystem.java:1404)
    at org.apache.hadoop.fs.FileSystem.get(FileSystem.java:254)
    at org.apache.hadoop.fs.Path.getFileSystem(Path.java:187)
    at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.util.FSUtils.getRootDir(FSUtils.java:667)
    at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.master.MasterFileSystem.<init>(MasterFileSystem.java:112)
    at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.master.HMaster.finishInitialization(HMaster.java:554)
    at org.apache.hadoop.hbase.master.HMaster.run(HMaster.java:413)
    at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:745)
2015-07-20 10:55:22,086 INFO org.apache.hadoop.hbase.master.HMaster: Aborting

And, this is my hbase-site.xml file

<configuration>
<property>
<name>hbase.rootdir</name>
<value>hdfs://master:9000/hbase</value>
</property>

<property>
<name>hbase.cluster.distributed</name>
<value>true</value>
</property>

<property>
<name>hbase.zookeeper.quorum</name>
<value>localhost</value>
</property>

<property>
<name>dfs.replication</name>
<value>1</value>
</property>

<property>
<name>hbase.zookeeper.property.clientPort</name>
<value>2181</value>
</property>

<property>
<name>hbase.zookeeper.property.dataDir</name>
<value>/home/yarn/hbase/zookeeper</value>
</property>

</configuration>

Also the contents of /etc/hosts file :

 

127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain master

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1     ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters

 

 

 

Please let me know what is wrong with my configuration.

Regards.

Cloudera Employee
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎07-08-2013

Re: HMaster not starting....

Hi Aajan,

 

Can you please confirm which version of CDH you have deployed? The last CDH version (5.4) comes with HBase 1.0. So sound like you installed a previous one, is that correct?

 

Thanks,

 

JM

Cloudera Employee
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎07-08-2013

Re: HMaster not starting....

Hi Aajan,

 

Have you get a chance to look at this?

 

If you are using the Apache version of those projects, then you might want to make sure you too the Hadoop 2.x build of HBase 0.98.x...

 

JM