New Contributor

Installing Teradata Connector in CDH4 Cloudera Quickstar VM

Hello everyone:

I'm trying to develop a small proof of concept to use Hadoop to store our older data stored in a Teradata DB. I want to store the content of some tables to know if is possible and feasible to do it. I would like to use Sqoop with HUE to achieve that. ¿Is that possible?

I'm new to Linux and Hadoop.

I've downloaded the VMWare version of Cloudera QuickStart VM CDH 4 (CDH 5 works too slow in my PC) from

http://cloudera.com/content/cloudera/en/documentation/core/latest/topics/cloudera_quickstart_vm.html

It's running and ok.

I understand that the next step is to install the Teradata connector in that VM to getting Sqoop communicated with our Teradata DB. I've found this tutorial in Clouderas documentation

http://www.cloudera.com/content/cloudera/en/documentation/connectors/latest/Teradata/Cloudera-Connec...

I'm following the Installation without Cloudera Manager section, as I've not CDH 5 nor Internet access from the VM. I will explain what I have done in every step (in blue goes the text from the documentation, in red what I've done)

1) Install the Sqoop connector by opening the distribution archive in a convenient location such as /usr/lib. Opening the distribution creates a directory that contains the jar file of the compiled version of the connector. Note the path to this jar file. The directory that is created when the file is expanded varies according to which connector you are using. Examples of typical resulting paths include:

Cloudera Connector Powered by Teradata 1.2cX: /usr/lib/sqoop-connector-teradata-1.2cX/sqoop-connector-teradata-1.2cX.jar
    Cloudera Connector for Teradata 1.2cX: /usr/lib/sqoop-td-connector-1.2cX/sqoop-td-connector-1.2cX.jar

I've chose the Cloudera Connector because it's free and is for a small demo. I've downloaded it from

http://www.cloudera.com/content/cloudera/en/downloads/connectors/sqoop/teradata/1-2c4-for-teradata.h...