Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Unable to launch (cloudera-quickstart-vm-5.4.2-0-vmware) on (VMware-player-5.0.4) in windows 7.

New Contributor

Hi All,

I am trying to launch "cloudera-quickstart-vm-5.4.2-0-vmware" on VM (VMware-player-5.0.4-1945795) but no luck. nothing is hapening.

I have installed 'VMware-player-5.0.4-1945795' in Windows 7 Enterprise with 8 GB RAM

Unzip 'cloudera-quickstart-vm-5.4.2-0-vmware' file using 7zip or winzip as well

open cloudera-quickstart-vm-5.4.2-0-vmware  files from VM Player.

Clicked on 'Play Virtual Machine'.

Nothing is coming on screen. uanable to proceed further.

Could you please help as i am new to VMs also I read couple of threads here saying that may be we need to change in BIOS settings. I don't know how to change.

Regards

Ankur

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Expert Contributor

Enabling virtualization in a PC is usually a step you take during boot up. As your system boots up, it will flash a message telling you to press a key (e.g. F1, F2, escape) to configure BIOS settings. If you have never run a VM on your laptop before, you will likely have to take this step.

The BIOS settings that must be enabled for VT-x support vary depending on the system vendor. Here is a VMware knowledge base article that may help: http://kb.vmware.com/kb/1003944 and here is another good reference that provides information specific to certain brands: http://amiduos.com/support/knowledge-base/article/enabling-virtualization-in-bios

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Expert Contributor

Enabling virtualization in a PC is usually a step you take during boot up. As your system boots up, it will flash a message telling you to press a key (e.g. F1, F2, escape) to configure BIOS settings. If you have never run a VM on your laptop before, you will likely have to take this step.