Reply
Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎04-13-2017

Re: Impala queries through impala JDBC is running with empty user

You are not using the AuthMech parameter at all.  Perhaps you are not exactly doing what this thread is discussing.  According to the manual, AuthMech should be required.  Regardless, for my use case with Dbeaver I can say for sure that without AuthMech I am not able to connect.

 

So, one more time...Has anyone successfully connected using AuthMech=2, as described in the manual?

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-18-2018

Re: Impala queries through impala JDBC is running with empty user

Filed an issue with Cloudera and was confirmed this is a bug. Workaround provided was: 

impala_auth = "AuthMech=3;UseSasl=0", which does not seem to make sense, but worked for me... good luck.

Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎04-13-2017

Re: Impala queries through impala JDBC is running with empty user

<Sigh>  That did not work for me.  However, someone did suggest just that in this thread I started for Dbeaver: https://github.com/dbeaver/dbeaver/issues/4240.  They were using a password, though.

 

Just to be absolutely clear, you are using AuthMech=3;UseSasl=0 but no PWD, right?

 

@xfly, do you have any luck with this syntax?

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-18-2018

Re: Impala queries through impala JDBC is running with empty user

I did have a password (empty string). I believe you can use anything for username/password with this authmech.

Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎04-13-2017

Re: Impala queries through impala JDBC is running with empty user

[ Edited ]

I am very happy to report that this finally did the trick for me.  I had not thought to leave the PWD field blank but that was the answer.

 

Here is my final connection string that is working perfectly with DBeaver:

 

jdbc:impala://1.0.0.1:21050/mydb;AuthMech=3;UID=myuser;UseSasl=0;PWD=

 

@FawzeI think this issue can finally be marked as resolved

Highlighted
Expert Contributor
Posts: 362
Registered: ‎01-25-2017

Re: Impala queries through impala JDBC is running with empty user

@epowell I cann't be happy more than this, after almost 2 years to get this working :)

Explorer
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-18-2018

Re: Impala queries through impala JDBC is running with empty user

It also works for me . big 3KQ !
New Contributor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-06-2019

Re: Impala queries through impala JDBC is running with empty user

Worked for me too. Thank you.