Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

5.2 Quickstatrt VM not running on 4 GB ram,

5.2 Quickstatrt VM not running on 4 GB ram,

Explorer

Dear All,

I have downloaded the QuickStart VM 5.2 version for Vmware and not able to open that QuickStart VM my desktop.

My pc configuration as below.

Processor:- QuardCore

Ram : 4 GB,

No other software are running on existing PC, please help me to open Cloudera VM.

Its loading till Cent OS, after not coming at all?

Your feedback are help full.

Thanks,

Shivkumar 

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted

Re: 5.2 Quickstatrt VM not running on 4 GB ram,

Community Manager

I'm not an expert but I think I see your problem unless I am reading your post incorrectly. Looking over the VM requirements for 5.4, which should be similar, it states that the VM requires 4GB or RAM. If your PC only has 4GB of RAM total, a VM running on the PC would not have the ability to allocate the required RAM as some of it would be used by the PC operating system and other software. 

VM requirements.png

Cy Jervis, Community Manager

Was your question answered? Make sure to mark the answer as the accepted solution.
If you find a reply useful, say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up button.

Learn more about the Cloudera Community:
Community Guidelines
How to use the forum

Explorer

Thanks for immediate response.

Is it possible to run Quickstart VM using existing system configuration of 4 GB RAM.

How can i do this if possible !

Thanks,

shivkumar 

Community Manager

There is no way that I am aware of to run the VM with less than 4GB of RAM allocated to it. Cloudera Live may meet your needs.

Was your question answered? Make sure to mark the answer as the accepted solution.

Community Guidelines
How to use the forum

New Contributor

Hi ,