Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise

Assistance with extremely difficult Hive Question/Query for finding mean for every n seconds by participant?

Explorer

I am a newbie with Hive and I am having tremendous difficulty trying to figure out how to solve the following problem using Hive. I am using the hortonworks VM 2.4 for virtualbox. I have imported some csv data into Hive and having lots of trouble doing the following.

Problem

I desperately need assistance in figuring out how to query my data to obtain an aggregate heart rate for n seconds. For example, how can I get the mean heart rate for each participant every 4 seconds?

Data

Consider the following data that represents a simple table I have

timestamphrparticipant
15:30:12951
15:30:13961
15:30:14971
15:30:15981
15:30:16951
15:30:17961
15:30:18971
15:30:19951
15:30:20921
15:30:21931
15:30:23891
15:30:11802

Desired Output

timestamphrparticipantmean
15:30:1295196.5
15:30:1396196.5
15:30:1497196.5
15:30:1598196.5
15:30:1695195.75
15:30:1796195.75
15:30:1897195.75
15:30:1995195.75
15:30:2092191.33
15:30:2193191.33
15:30:2389191.33
15:30:2080296.3

Consider the desired output above. For participant 1, there is 3 mean temperatures given. We have 96.5 for the first 4 seconds, 95.75 for the second 4 seconds, and 91.33 as the mean for the last 3 seconds. The last part is tricky because we don't have 4 seconds. Ideally, we would take the mean of what we have. Since we only have 3 seconds, we have the mean of that. It's possible we could have 2 seconds or 1 seconds. I just don't know. In addition, notice that there is a missing second for participant 1, we have 15:30:21 and then it jumps to 15:30:23.

Issues