Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

Can't change Ambari metrics collector port

Highlighted

Can't change Ambari metrics collector port

New Contributor

Question around Ambari metrics and changing the port number. I have a Ambari 2.1.2 + HDP 2.3.4.0-3485 and have Ambari Metrics 0.1.0 installed. The current port number for the Metrics Collector is set to 8188 and I need to change it to 6188. From what I can tell 6188 is the default port but for some reason my Collector is on a different port and it will not change when modifying the advanced ams-site.xml => timeline.metrics.service.webapp.address value and restarting affected services. When modifying this value all the metrics monitors on all hosts switch to the new port(correctly) but start failing because the collector didn’t switch. Is there a better way to get the collector to switch to a different port or maybe a bug with the version’s I’m using?

* Currently there is nothing listening on port 6188 on this host.

* Centos 6.6

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted

Re: Can't change Ambari metrics collector port

New Contributor

Hi,

I'm changing the port through the Ambari UI and then going through the process of updating stale configs and restarting services.

Poking around I can see the 8188 port in a couple config files. I have also tried changing these values to use the port 6188 and then manually restarting the ambari-metrics-collector but the collector service doesn't seem to use any of these configs. One thing I noticed was that in the ambari-metrics-collector conf the ams-site.xml file was empty and I'm pretty sure this is wrong.

[root@had104 etc]# find . -exec grep -il -s 8188 {} \; 
./hadoop/2.3.4.0-3485/0/yarn-site.xml 
./hadoop/2.3.4.0-3485/0/hadoop-metrics2.properties 
./ambari-metrics-monitor/conf/metric_monitor.ini