Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Convert Json to Avro in Nifi

Explorer

Hi,
I want to convert json data to avro.
I have used GenerateFlowFile and put dummy json value [{"firstname":"prathik","age":21},{"firstname":"arun","age":22}].
I have then used ConvertRecord processor and set JsonTreeReader and AvroRecordSetWriter with AvroSchemaRegistry which has the following schema:
{
"name": "person",
"namespace": "nifi",
"type": "record",
"fields": [
{"name": "firstname", "type": "string" },
{ "name": "age", "type": "int" }
]
}

But i am getting this as my output : prathik*arun,

where  is a red dot

I am new to Apache Nifi.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Contributor

Where are you viewing the data ? Is it in Nifi? Avro is in binary format so its not readable in any editor. If you are viewing in Nifi, then you should check if the you embedded the schema or not. If the schema is embedded then something in the flow is wrong. If not, i suppose it can look the way it shows you. 

A quick test could be to dump it in HDFS and create an external hive table to check if the data looks correct.

Hope this helps. If the comment helps you to find a solution or move forward, please accept it as a solution for other community members.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7

Contributor

Where are you viewing the data ? Is it in Nifi? Avro is in binary format so its not readable in any editor. If you are viewing in Nifi, then you should check if the you embedded the schema or not. If the schema is embedded then something in the flow is wrong. If not, i suppose it can look the way it shows you. 

A quick test could be to dump it in HDFS and create an external hive table to check if the data looks correct.

Hope this helps. If the comment helps you to find a solution or move forward, please accept it as a solution for other community members.

Explorer