Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

Elaborate query from JSON

Elaborate query from JSON

New Contributor

Hello everybody, I'm new to Nifi, I've been using it for a week now and I got stuck with something.
The problem I have is: in order to perform CRUD ops on Postgres, I'm extracting XML files, from FS, transforming them into simple flat JSON (10 key/value pairs), then sending them to a ConvertJSONToSQL processor and at last to a PutSQL. Now, I'm struggling to understand how the last 2 processors operate. In order to perform a query, I also have set an UpdateAttribute processor (before JSONtoSQL) to set attributes for the query, like this:

name: "sql.args.<positional-number>.value"

value "$.<key-name-inJson>" .

This is the JSON in flowfile:
{ "master_identifier" : "mfn_m02_medico", "record_level_event" : "MAD", "prg" : "", "codice" : "150189", "descrizione" : "Descrizione", "data_inizio_validita" : "20180506", "data_fine_validita" : "", "utente_operazione" : "operatore562", "nome" : "Riccio", "cognome" : "Francesco", "sesso" : "M"}

Question: How does the duo Convert-Put works? Am I supposed to set attributes like I wrote and the Convert will formulate the query? Can't I just give that JSON to Convert, since all key-value pairs are the one i need to put in the query?

Thanks in advance. I might be a little confused on how this is supposed to work, so any explaination would be greatly appreciated!

Note: I know I can make it work using a Replacetext proc. but i'm trying to handle "different json", meaning I'm trying to handle different tables, thats why i'm looking for something that automatically maps JSON content with the query coloumn and values.

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Elaborate query from JSON

New Contributor