Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise

Expression Language chaining with string manipulation

Expression Language chaining with string manipulation

New Contributor

Newbie here. I'm attempting to utilize multiple string manipulation operations for an attribute that has been passed into one of my processors. Specifically, I have the following where I am referencing an attribute value:

/Absolute/Directory/Path/${path:substringAfter('FruitBasket')}

where the expression could have the hypothetical values of:

"/store/produce/FruitBasket/RedFruits.txt"

"/store/produce/FruitBasket/YellowFruits.txt"

"/store/produce/FruitBasket/OrangeFruits.txt"

I am attempting to replace the ending substring WITHIN the string returned from the expression above as such:

/Absolute/Directory/Path/${path:substringAfter('FruitBasket'):replace('RedFruits.txt', 'Apple1.txt')}

or

/Absolute/Directory/Path/${path:substringAfter('FruitBasket'):replace('YellowFruits.txt', 'Banana2.txt')}

etc..

So that I get:

"/Absolute/Directory/Path/Apple1.txt"

or

"/Absolute/Directory/Path/Banana2.txt"

However, when I do this, I actually get the literal value of:

"/Absolute/Directory/Path/${path:substringAfter('FruitBasket').replace('RedFruits.txt', 'Apple1.txt')}"

Under the section describing the NiFi expression language in https://docs.hortonworks.com, it says we can "chain together multiple function calls". However, I'm unsure of whether this works for string manipulations. Just to check, I reversed the order of chaining and performed the replace BEFORE the substringAfter and still got the same behavior. Additionally, I tried performing the replace alone, and apparently it did not like the embedded numbers. Can anyone shed any light this or present a viable alternative solution? Thank you.

-Jay

2 REPLIES 2

Re: Expression Language chaining with string manipulation

Master Guru

@Jay C

-

What you are trying to do is supported by NiFi Expression Language (EL).