Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

Hive Metastore (Some basic questions)

Hive Metastore (Some basic questions)

New Contributor

I am new to Hadoop and Ecosystem.

I understand that Hive sits ontop of Hadoop, but confuguration wise, have some question

1. Does Hive metastore can be out of Hadoop ?, Let say separate box of my sql, and cofigure Hive metastore on that machine?

2. Is there anything like Hive Server and Hive Client ?

3. If yes for #2, where does Hive Server configured, and Where Hive client installed?

4. If i have my laptop, can i install hive client on my machine and connect to Hive Server? like SQL Server SSMS ?

Please help,

Thanks, Virul

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Hive Metastore (Some basic questions)

Champion

The below link covers in detail the different options and has wonderful and simple diagram on how the different components interact with the Hive Metastore (HMS).

1. Yes, the HMS does site outside (although the community is bring it into HBase to have it scale better) and in a regular RDBMS like MySQL.  I recommend putting it on a Master node as then it can be segrated and protected better.

2. There is HiveServer2 (HS2) and the Hive client.  Both access the metastore.  HS2 is much improved of the original HiveServer and this is how you should have most of your clients connect.  As the doc covers you can have it on the same host but that brings some security concerns.  I recommend having it on a edge/gateway host that can connect to the HMS.  The Hive client skips past HS2 and connects directly to HMS.  There are concerns around that like bypassing authorization, permanent UDFs created in it aren't available to HS2 clients, etc.

3. Let me know if #2 didn't cover this well.