Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

How to create Etl job in spark

How to create Etl job in spark

Contributor

Hi
I wonder how can i use SPARK for etl  purpose? Since I am new to HADOOP. My confusion here is how do i create ETL job in SPARK or is there any GUI features available in spark in order to create ETL JOB ? Moreover, If you can recomend any videos/url available where i can find creating etl job in SPARK will be much helpful ? Please advise

Will look forward to hear from you

Thank You

Ujjwal Rana

12 REPLIES 12

Re: How to create Etl job in spark

Champion
Not the traditional ETL process. Spark needs to have access to the data you are processing on all of the nodes. This is accomplished in CDH using HDFS. So the data must be loaded there first. It can shine in in transforming the data but depending on the process it may not be a huge improvement over say MapReduce.

Most Spark work I have seen to data involves code jobs in Scala, Python, or Java. There is a slight first in the landscape as Spark has matured to the point that most tools that fit somewhere in the ETL spectrum or sphere support Spark as an execution engine. Hive on Spark is also allowing more traditional ETL to happen in Spark as it just requires SQL knowledge to work with Hive and the execution layer is handed over to Spark without you needed to know anything..

I don't have any fancy links to share right now. When looking at tools out there, old and new, search through the docs to see if they support Spark as an execution engine. Find the Hive on Spark wiki or CDH documentation to read up more on that.

Champion

@UjjwalRana

You can use "Apache NiFi" to get ETL like feature: https://nifi.apache.org/

Refer the below link to know "Stream Processing Nifi & Spark":