Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

How to identify the source of thrift API calls (ImpalaService.ImpalaHiveServer2Service.Client)

How to identify the source of thrift API calls (ImpalaService.ImpalaHiveServer2Service.Client)

Hi,

I hope this is the right place to put this query.

I am a Hadoop admin and we have either a user or a workflow regularly executing INVALIDATE METADATA statements on a large set of tables within a database. These commands are being issued in the tens of thousands per day and I am trying to track thier origin.

They are called by a service account, which a previous admin handed out the password for, so we can't use that to indentify the cuprit.

The Hue runcpserver.log shows lots of the following:

[27/Jun/2019 12:06:56 +0100] thrift_util  INFO     SLOW: 2.42 - Thrift call: <class 'ImpalaService.ImpalaHiveServer2Service.Client'>.ExecuteStatement(args=(TExecuteStatementReq(confOverlay={'impala.resultset.cache.size': '100000', 'QUERY_TIMEOUT_S': '600'}, sessionHandle=TSessionHandle(sessionId=THandleIdentifier(secret=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, guid=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)), runAsync=True, statement='INVALIDATE METADATA `database`.`table`'),), kwargs={}) returned in 2422ms: TExecuteStatementResp(status=TStatus(errorCode=None, errorMessage=None, sqlState=None, infoMessages=None, statusCode=0), operationHandle=TOperationHandle(hasResultSet=False, modifiedRowCount=None, operationType=0, operationId=THandleIdentifier(secret=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx, guid=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)))

Which leads me to believe that a thrift API call is responsible.

Is there any logging on the thrift calls which could help to identify the source?