Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

How to run kafka with kerberos?

How to run kafka with kerberos?

New Contributor

I am new to Kafka.

What I am trying to do is to run Kafka with Kerberos.

I have some questions about this.

Should I run Zookeeper and Kafka with different os users?

While trying to run Kafka with Kerberos, I had done some changes in config files following documentations. Do I have to do anything in zookeeper config files?

9 REPLIES 9

Re: How to run kafka with kerberos?

@Utku Utku Refer below documentation to configure Kafka for Kerberos.By default, Kafka and Zookeeper will run as different users i.e. kafka and zookeeper respectively.

https://docs.hortonworks.com/HDPDocuments/HDP2/HDP-2.4.0/bk_secure-kafka-ambari/content/ch_secure-ka...

New Contributor

In kafka environment, I had changed some parameters in server.properties file for enabling SASL and then created the jaas file for kafka.

In zookeeper side, I also did some changes so that zookeeper runs with a jaas file.

now I am trying to solve some issues about kerberos.

when there is some progress, I will write them here.

Contributor

Here are steps for a working Kafka on Kerberized HDP cluster:

1.Add kafka services from Ambari.

2.Select Kafka-broker hosts :

3.Customized Kafka broker properties and Add following additional properties:

allow.everyone.if.no.acl.found=true

principal.to.local.class=kafka.security.auth.KerberosPrincipalToLocal

sasl.enabled.mechanisms=GSSAPI

sasl.mechanism.inter.broker.protocol=GSSAPI

security.inter.broker.protocol=SASL_PLAINTEXT

security.protocol=SASL_PLAINTEXT

super.users=user:kafka,user1

5.Change Listener as shown below:

SASL_PLAINTEXT://localhost:6667

6.Complete the installation.

7.Verify Installation: