Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

I am new to Big Data. I want to install HDP in my laptop. Just want to know whether my laptop which has 8GB RAM & CORE i5 processor can install it or not?

Highlighted

I am new to Big Data. I want to install HDP in my laptop. Just want to know whether my laptop which has 8GB RAM & CORE i5 processor can install it or not?

New Contributor

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted

Re: I am new to Big Data. I want to install HDP in my laptop. Just want to know whether my laptop which has 8GB RAM & CORE i5 processor can install it or not?

Mentor

@Avishek Datta

You will need least 8 GB dedicated for HDP, and that's the bare minimum. Unfortunately, even for the latest HDP sandbox, you need 8 GB or it will be too slow and very demotivating for a beginner, I hope your laptop is running linux? If not your best bet is to use the Oracle VM box.

HTH

Highlighted

Re: I am new to Big Data. I want to install HDP in my laptop. Just want to know whether my laptop which has 8GB RAM & CORE i5 processor can install it or not?

Mentor

@Avishek Datta

Do you still need more inputs? the 8 GB is only for the HDP and you will need more for the OS if running Oracle VM

Highlighted

New Contributor

@ Geoffrey Shelton Okot.

I have Win 10 & VMware installed in my laptop with 8 GB RAM. If HDP can't be installed , I have to search for alternatives then. HDP would have been of good help. Is there no other way to install it?

Highlighted

Mentor

@Avishek Datta

If you can't upgrade your memory, here is the basic requirement for running Windows10

• Processor: 1 (GHz) or faster
  • RAM: 1 gigabyte (GB) (32-bit) or 2 GB (64-bit)
  • Free hard disk space: 16 GB