Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

Illegal Arg Exception when parsing CSV file though the split record processor

Hi,

Im new to Nifi. Im trying to parse csv records with the SplitRecord Processor utilizing the CSVReader controller service, however Im getting IllegalArgumentException an exception on the file despite the CSV seems to be well formatted and Im able to parse\read through other means. Im getting the file  through the GetFile processor and when I view the content from the queue I notice a red dot (see screenshot) in the beginning which seems to indicate invalid character but when I open the file in a text editor I dont see anything abnormal. This file is coming from a third party and it would be hard to change. When I copy the content and place it into other file and save, the new file works! Can someone help please to find what is causing the issue and how to fix? Thanks Capture.PNG

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hello @SAMSAL ,

Thanks for your reply and the additional information.

What I would personally do is to keep collecting the data and note down the encodings detected to see if there is a pattern and do some research based on it.

Since the issue is not caused by any Cloudera product defects, we’ve reached the limit of what assistance can be provided via Community support. This thread will remain open if other community peers want to contribute.

If you’re a Cloudera Subscription Support customer, we can connect you with your Account team to explore a possible Services engagement for this request. Let us know if you’re interested in this path, we’ll private message you to collect more information.

Thank you:

Ferenc

Ferenc Erdelyi, Technical Solutions Manager

Was your question answered? Make sure to mark the answer as the accepted solution.
If you find a reply useful, say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up button.