Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

Is it possible to manage Ubuntu cluster and RHEL cluster in a same Cloudera manager?

Highlighted

Is it possible to manage Ubuntu cluster and RHEL cluster in a same Cloudera manager?

Explorer

Hello members,

I'm new to Cloudera Administration. But I learned about Cloudera Administration somewhat with the help of Cloudera Documentation. I have created

Cloudera 3 node cluster(Ubuntu) already. Now I'm trying to create a 3 node cluster(RedHat) with the same Cloudera Manager. Whe I start the process of installation,

everything is fine. But during distributing the parcels from existing cluster, the process gets stopped. So anyone please help me, How to distribute the parcels from

existing cluster to new cluster. I'm using CDH version 5.4.0. Is this possible?

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted

Re: Is it possible to manage Ubuntu cluster and RHEL cluster in a same Cloudera manager?

Super Collaborator

Yes,

Cloudera Manager will detect the variation and download and distribute the parcel for that target server's OS release.  

This functionality is included to provide for flexibilty and support migrations and upgrades of cluster servers. 

We do not reccomend remaining in a mixed release topology however for an extended period, and to

use the fucntionality as a transitional deployment model, only. 

Highlighted

Re: Is it possible to manage Ubuntu cluster and RHEL cluster in a same Cloudera manager?

Explorer