Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

MapReduce for Twitter Hashtags

Contributor

Hi,

I would like to implement a MapReduce job to identify the top-N tweets from a large number of tweets presumably stored in HDFS. As you know a tweet can have multiple hashtags so this needs to be considered.

I am using the simple word count example pseudocode to get started as I am new to programming.

At a high level my Map stage reads all tweets in from HDFS and tokenises each tweet, placing a 1 beside each separate word in the tweet.

So the output from my Map would be the following key value pairs:

The 1, Quick 1, Brown 1, Fox 1, Jumps 1, Over 1, The 1, Lazy 1, Dog 1, #Lazy 1, #Dog 1

We then have the shuffle and sort phase which performs a count of the values from the pairs.

The 2, Quick 1, Brown 1, Fox 1, Jumps 1, Over 1, Lazy 1, Dog 1, #Lazy 1, #Dog 1

Before I send my Maps to the Reducer how could I specify that I am only interested in strings beginning with a '#', can I drop strings that don't begin with '#' to speed up the algorithm?

From the sample pseudocode below, could I replace 'docid' with 'tweetid' since this is the unique identifier of the tweet and 'doc' with tweet to represent the content of the tweet?

I'd appreciate it if you could help me with the pseudocode so that I can get my head around the basics.

4246-word-count.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Master Guru

You can drop non-hashtag strings in your Mapper by emitting only hashtag terms (beginning with "#"). And yes, you can use the tweet identifier as docid, and tweet text as doc. However, if you don't emit docid (tweet-id) you will lose connecction between tweets and hashtags. You can emit (hastag, tweet-id), and in the Reducer phase count tweets for each hash-tag. In this way, you can detect most popular hastags, and the tweets using them.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8