Created on 12-26-2018 07:07 AM - edited 08-17-2019 03:21 PM
Created 12-26-2018 08:04 AM
If the table has TBLPROPERTIES("auto.purge"="true") the previous data of the table is not moved to Trash when INSERT OVERWRITE query is run against the table. This functionality is applicable only for managed tables and is turned off when "auto.purge" property is unset or set to false.
Please accept the answer you found most useful.
Created 01-02-2019 07:24 PM
From the directory listing, your table must have "transactional=true" property, i.e. it's an ACID table. That means that Insert Overwrite will create a base_x directory where it will put the result of the insert (new data) there. Any data that existed before, will remain in the table but will not be visible to readers that start after Insert Overwrite finished. Old data will be physically removed once Compaction runs over this table/partition.