Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise

Need advice, Saving messages from JMS Queue to Hadoop Hbase a good solution?

New Contributor

I'm new to the Hadoop world and I've been tasked to research solutions to ingest data from our current JMS Queues into our Hadoop cluster.

So far on my quest to becoming a data ingestion expert... I've scoured the web going through books and tutorials for a couple of weeks now. I've managed to write a simple Java Service which listens to one of our Queues and simply write the incoming messages to an HBase HTable.

After completing this proof of concept I have a couple of questions I would like ask the community/Hadoop/Hbase/data ingestion experts. Before I ask let me describe a little bit of my scenario/scope.

• We receive approximately 30,000 messages per day from our JMS Queue
  • These messages are JSON objects which can range anywhere from 1 MB to 20 MB each
  • Needs to be near real time
  • We would like to continuously save these messages into Hadoop for future analytics and historical reference for years to come
  • We don't need to parse the incoming messages, just store them. (Current line of thinking is to write another Service which will parse these messages and save them into proper schema later. Reason = No bottlenecking during message ingestion)

With my "proof of concept" Java Service, it works, but I don't know if this solution is the best for my case scenario especially in a Production environment.

1. Is this a good approach/solution for my case scenario?
  2. If not, what other technologies would be a good fit for what I'm trying to do?
  3. Is using HBase for this overkill?
  4. Saving up to 20 MB in a single cell a good idea? Especially if we plan to continuously append messages to this table with no purging?

Appreciate any input, thanks!

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Need advice, Saving messages from JMS Queue to Hadoop Hbase a good solution?

Expert Contributor