Support Questions
Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Alert: Welcome to the Unified Cloudera Community. Former HCC members be sure to read and learn how to activate your account here.

New node addition in existing cluster with HA

Highlighted

New node addition in existing cluster with HA

New Contributor

Hello there,

I am fairly new to Hadoop and Ambari so please excuse if you feel some of the queries are absurd or illogical. TIA :)

-----

We have a HA enabled Ambari cluster where there are 2 masters(with ambari-server and ambari-agent) and 1 worker(with ambari-agent) installed on them. The setup is being created using the Ansible GIT project for with few modifications. We are able to get HA for ambari-server and few components like zookeeper, etc.

The requirement for which I am seeking help from community is to have a case where if one of the master in HA cluster goes down, there is a need to add a new node to existing cluster that will join as a standyby master node.

IMO with limited exposure to ambari, I feel that all the components in HA will need to be re-configured to add this new node. Is there a better way to do this or any way at all to achieve this?

Can blueprints help in this case? If I set a host_mapping.json file and inside it, hostgroup could be of 'master' type and hence Ambari itself could figure out which components to configure and where to setup HA?

Thanks for being patient for reading so much information. Please feel free to comment on this and any pointers will be really helpful.

6 REPLIES 6

Re: New node addition in existing cluster with HA

Mentor

@Amit Bhardwaj

Firstly there is nothing wrong with asking we all started from the same point :-) Having said that I would like some clarifications. To my understanding you have 3 nodes:

- HA [Namenode/RM]??? is also running the Ambari server/ambari-agent right? 
- One data node (Worker node) 
- Other HDP components how many zookeeper instances do you have?