Support Questions

Find answers, ask questions, and share your expertise
Announcements
Celebrating as our community reaches 100,000 members! Thank you!

NiFi InvokeHTTP POST JSON

Explorer

I'm totally new to NiFi and learning as I go, but am against a hard deadline and need urgent assistance. I was tasked to create a data interface between two learning systems to send course completion data.

I'm creating a flow to send course completion data from one system to another and have a JSON formatted file (to send as HTTP body to send as a CURL post?)

This is the sample JSON data that I've created so far:
{"user_id":10042,"username":"de","course_id":"C00230","completed_on":"12-02-2020","SCORE":100}

The suggested HTTPS Curl request format is provided below.
curl -v -X POST -d "j_username=admin&j_password=admin&userID=MORRW001&crsID=C00565&dateCompleted=2020-11-16&testScore=100&courseType=a" https://lms.dev.test.net/jw/web/json/data/

How do I configure the InvokeHTTP processor to send it correctly? Do I need to reformat the JSON data so it's in the correct format for the curl format shown above?

Remember I'm just a NiFi novice, so details, including screenshots would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Master Collaborator

@GMAN  Here is my try to help you further.

flowflow

Look at the picture of the InvokeHTTP.

InvokeHTTPInvokeHTTP

From my experience most options can mostly be left to default values.

Your Json-body should be fine and will be send with the request.

Remarks:
- Authenticaton/Authorization: You have to try the two possibilities I know. For the second you have to add custom-property "Authorization" with the plus symbol on the right above.

- Accept: Concerns the response format not sure wether you will need this.

Maybe you can first build your request in Postman and after successfull execution then click to "code" -> "HTTP". There you can see the details needed for the request.